πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | 20th February 2022

Hello friends and a blessed Sunday to you all! πŸ™ I hope this post finds you all well. A stormy week has passed by for me and now it is time to reflect on what we’ve been doing, reading, and watching over that time.

This week was the crazy run down to the end of this spring half-term, with assessments and reports to complete, but rounded off with a super fun Valentine disco that the pupils and staff alike loved and really needed! All of which was made a little crazier though with the arrival of Storm Eunice on Friday, although the weather turned bad a few days even before that. 🌬

Like last week, after work, I mainly just got myself home, fed and into bed early, except Monday evening where I went to help out at a local charity. I should have also had my interview on Friday, however due to the high winds my town’s castle had to close for the day, so my interview has been rescheduled for tomorrow. Wish me luck! 🀞

The same as last week, when I haven’t been too tired of an evening, I have been re-reading the chunky young-adult fantasy, Eldest by Christopher Paolini (2005), the second book from Paolini’s bestselling The Inheritance Cycle series. It has been many years since I first read this and I am enjoying reacquainting myself with the next leg of Eragon and Saphira’s journey and training. 🐲

While on the backburner I have the Christian non-fiction, Pray For Us by Meg Hunter-Kilmer (2021) too. This is a very interesting read exploring the lesser-known lives of seventy-five extraordinary people whose human struggles and limitations reveal the power of God’s grace. As well asΒ the Celtic Daily Prayer: Book One by the Northumbria Community (2015), as well as my Holy Bible. ✝

My dad’s choice this week was the American psychological thriller film, The Woman in the Window (2021), based on A.J. Finn’s 2018 novel. The film follows an agoraphobic woman who begins to spy on her new neighbours and witnesses a crime in their apartment. Nothing particularly new or ground-breaking, but it is well done with good performances from Amy Adams, Gary Oldman, and relative newcomer, Fred Hechinger. πŸ”ͺ

While in my own time, I quickly worked my way through Sky’s new gripping true-crime series, Murder in the Valleys (2022), about the biggest criminal investigation in Welsh history: the brutal murder of three generations of one family, one night in June 1999, in the small village of Clydach, South Wales. The investigation and conviction for which continues to deeply divide the community. πŸ”

I have also enjoyed some of my favourite YouTubers’ latest videos, including Triggernometry, Super Enthused and Nerdrotic, and the two-part ‘The Menagerie’ episode from series one of the classic, American sci-fi television drama, Star Trek. Something I have watched before but only in bits and pieces, so it is great to be working my way through it properly now. πŸ‘½

Finally, last but least, here is the one post I shared with you over the last week:

πŸ“–Β The Land God Gave to Cain by Hammond Innes (1958) ⭐⭐

Please do check this out, if you haven’t already! 😊

The Sunday Post(I have linked this post into the weekly meme, Sunday Post)

For now, that’s all folks! Where ever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless and bye for now! πŸ‘‹

What have you been doing, reading and watching? Please let me know in the comments below, or leave a link to your own Sunday post. I love to chat with you all!

30 thoughts on “πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | 20th February 2022

    1. Kelly, I wish your husband all the best for his major job interview. πŸ™ My rescheduled interview was able to ahead, even though Storm Eunice was immediately, followed by Storm Franklin, although I didn’t end up getting the job.

  1. The Valentine disco sounds like a lot of fun! And a great way to spend some extra energy and relieve stress. I hope the interview went well!

    I remember reading The Woman in the Window and enjoying it. I am fairly certain I saw the movie, but honestly it doesn’t stick out for me.

    I hope you have a great week, Jessica! Stay safe.

    1. Thank you so much, Wendy πŸ™‚ The Valentine disco was just what we needed and thankfully my rescheduled interview was able to go ahead, although I’m afraid I didn’t get the job. Also I can understand how The Woman in the Window film doesn’t stick out for you. πŸ˜…

    1. Thank you so much, Emma – We certainly have had some crazy weather, as Storm Eunice was immediately followed by Storm Franklin! But thankfully my rescheduled interview was able to go ahead, although I’m afraid I didn’t get the job.

    1. JoAnn, Storm Eunice was quite a storm and she was immediately proceeded by Storm Franklin! But thankfully my rescheduled interview was able to go ahead, although I’m afraid I didn’t get the job.

  2. Good luck with the interview! And ooh Woman in the Window- I read that one but haven’t seen the movie yet.

    Glad your Star trek watch is still going strong!

    1. Thank you so much, Greg. I am very much still enjoying my Star Trek watch and I hope you will be able to watch Woman in the Window at some point, seeing as you have read the book. πŸ˜ƒ

  3. I liked watching Woman in the Window. Like you said, it wasn’t ground breaking, but it was entertaining. And, like Kelly says above, it reminded me of Rear Window if Jimmy Stewart were an alcoholic, lol.

    I haven’t read Eragon yet. I want to. It’s on my never-ending TBR. Someday.

  4. Hope all goes well with the interview – maybe the stars will be in better alignment for you on the second date!
    Frustrated that I can’t see Murder in the Valleys (we don’t have Sky) because the crime happened not very far from my childhood home

    1. Well Karen the stars aligned enough for my rescheduled interview to go ahead, even though Storm Franklin rolled in on Sunday, however they weren’t aligned enough to get me the job! πŸ˜…
      As for Murder in the Valleys, hopefully, it will eventually get passed on to another channel so you will be able to watch it. How crazy that this awful murder was committed not far from your childhood home.

        1. Thank you, Karen. It is hard but sounds like loads of people went for it, so I am pretty pleased I even got an interview, even if I didn’t end up getting it. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Laurel-Rain and so pleased you like my photo. If I say so myself, it turned out gorgeous! However it was just the luck of being in the right place at the right time to catch it. πŸ˜ƒ

  5. Woman in the Window reminds me of my favorite Hitchcock film, Rear Window.

    Several bloggers I follow have commented on what a wild storm Eunice was! I hope the rescheduled interview goes well tomorrow.

    1. Kelly, while I can see why you are reminded of it, I would say that Rear Window is a far superior film than Woman in the Window, especially as the former was probably the trailblazer for these type of films.

      As for Storm Eunice she was immediately proceeded by Storm Franklin! But thankfully my rescheduled interview was able to go ahead, although I’m afraid I didn’t get the job.

        1. Thank you, Kelly. Sounds like loads of people went for it, so I am pretty pleased I even got an interview, even if I didn’t get it in the end. I prayed God’s will would be done, so it obviously wasn’t the right thing for me, right now. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.