πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | 17th April 2022

Hello friends and a blessed Easter Sunday to you all! ✝🌈❀ I hope this post finds you all well. Another atypical April week of bright sunshine and rain showers has passed by for me; and now it is time to share what I’ve been doing, reading, and watching over that time.

This has been a bit of a rollercoaster first week of the school’s Easter break for me. I started off with a couple of super relaxing days, followed by two full on days: one where I attended a planning meeting for the charity youth group I work at and another where I had to take my grandad to the hospital. Then, last night, I also enjoyed a wonderful trip to the theatre to see one of my favourite musicals: Joseph and His Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, which was great fun! I think it understandable though that now I am feeling pretty wiped out! 😌

With my time off work, it does mean I have been able to make a bit better progress through the weighty Victorian classic tome, Little Dorrit by Charles Dickens (1855), which was my result for The Classics Club’s 29th Spin event. This is a quirky and delightful tale of little Amy Dorrit and her family in the Marshalsea debtors’ prison, which feels almost like a re-read, as I have such fond memories of the BBC’s 2008 TV series, starring Matthew Macfadyen and Claire Foy. πŸ›

However, with this being Holy Week, my reading has mostly focused on the Christian non-fictions, Pray For Us by Meg Hunter-Kilmer (2021); the Celtic Daily Prayer: Book One by the Northumbria Community (2015), a collection of Celtic prayers and readings, and Forgiven by Time Chester (2022), a Lenten guide of the Book of Hebrews which was given out at my church and I finished this morning. As well as my Holy Bible. ✝

In my first few relaxing days off work, I indulged in a perfect spring inspired Jane Austen re-watch-a-thon of the romantic drama film, Pride & Prejudice (2005), the BBC’s moving TV series, Sense & Sensibility (2008) and the period comedy film, Love & Friendship (2016). Which has reminded me, I must write up and share my full thoughts on the latter film for you soon. πŸ’

Between all that, I enjoyed four more episodes of series one of the classic, American sci-fi television drama, Star Trek, too.Β  That included the iconic ‘Arena’ episode, where Kirk has to fight an alien captain to the death, and the gripping ‘Court Martial’ episode, where Kirk is placed on trial for negligence after a crewman is killed during a severe ion storm. Good stuff! πŸ‘½

I also squeezed in watching some of my favourite YouTubers’ latest videos, including: Nerdrotic, Super Enthused, Triggernometry, Downshiftology and Steven Crowder. 🌍

Finally, last but not least, here are the posts and reviews I was able to share with you, over the past week:

Tuesday – Top Ten Tuesday | Authors I Haven’t Read, But Want To!

Wednesday – Unboxing 3 Vintage Book Boxes from the Teatime Bookshop

Thursday – Katheryn Howard, The Tainted Queen by Alison Weir (2020) ⭐⭐

Friday – Two Mini-Reviews of My December Non-Fiction Reads ⭐⭐/⭐

Please do check these out, if you haven’t already! 😊

The Sunday Post(I have linked this post into the weekly meme, Sunday Post)

For now, that’s all folks! Where ever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless and bye for now! πŸ‘‹

What have you been doing, reading and watching? Please let me know in the comments below, or leave a link to your own Sunday post. I love to chat with you all!

28 thoughts on “πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | 17th April 2022

  1. I hope you continue to be able to relax during this Easter break – particularly as the weather is being so very kind to us at the present. I do hope your grandfather is okay. Take care and have a lovely week:).

    1. Hey Meg πŸ‘‹ Thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always nice to hear from a new face, especially a fellow Joseph and His Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat fan! 🀩

  2. Happy Easter! That sure sounds like a nice, but busy break. And I’m glad you enjoyed the Joseph musical. I saw that one myself a few years back and loved it.
    Have a great week and happy reading.

  3. Happy Easter! πŸ™‚ I’m sorry this week has been an emotional rollercoaster. I hope this next week is better and that your grandfather is doing okay. I’m jealous and happy for you that you got to go see Joseph. I love that play as well. πŸ™‚ Thank you for stopping by my blog.

    1. Thank you so much, Jenni Elyse – My grandad is okay but will need another test/procedure to find out exactly what is wrong and I am thankfully having a VERY relaxing time this week. πŸ™‚

  4. It sounds like a busy and productive week! I hope the trip to the hospital with your grandfather wasn’t for anything serious.

    Happy Easter, Jessica. He is risen!

    1. Thank you so much, Kelly! He is Risen! Hallelujah! ✝🌈❀ My grandad has fluid on his lungs and will need to have another test to be sure what’s going on, so you’re prayers will be most welcome. πŸ™

      1. I will gladly ask my prayer group to join me in praying for your grandad. Please keep us posted. πŸ™πŸΌ

  5. Happy Easter. Sounds like you’ve been busy lately but having some relaxing days off too. And classic Star Trek was what was on our tv back in the day. I remember it on our black and white and then going to a relative’s house and seeing it in color for the first time. Amazing.

    1. Hey Mia πŸ‘‹ Thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from a new face, especially a fellow Trekkie – I am rather jealous you got to see the original series when it first came out. πŸ‘½

  6. Happy Easter!! I hope your grandfather is doing okay.

    I love the 2005 P&P- I should rewatch it soon. And arena is fun as I recall. I’m not that far along yet in my rewatch- I need to jumpstart my watching. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you so much, Greg – My grandad is going to need to more tests to be sure what’s going on. I hope you will be able re-watch the wonderful Pride & Prejudice (2005) soon and jumpstart your Star Trek watching. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.