πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | 1st May 2022

Hello friends and a blessed Sunday to you all! πŸ™ I hope this post finds you all well. A mixed week has passed by for me; and now it is time to share what I’ve been doing, reading, and watching over that time.

This was the first week back at work and the start of the school’s summer term, after our two week Easter break. Along with the usual busyness getting new resources and assessments ready, we had a full inset day of training for the staff on Monday, and then a full day trip out to a test centre with a group of lads to take their final construction assessment on Thursday. I am happy to announce three of them passed and one of those has since had a job offer, and so it was his last day at school on Friday! 😌

Outside of school, I also worked at the charity youth group on Tuesday evening; I went to my dance class on Wednesday evening; and my church’s book club finally met again, after almost two years, on Thursday evening, where we had a great discussion on The Bible Jesus Read by Philip Yancey (review). As well as getting my hair done yesterday. So it has been a busy week for me!

Thank you to all those for their continued prayers and good wishes for my grandfather. His procedure to drain the fluid in his lung and to do a biopsy is still set for 3rd May. ❀

Considering I was out most evenings, I am pleased I still managed to make some progress through the weighty Victorian classic tome, Little Dorrit by Charles Dickens (1855), which was my result for The Classics Club’s 29th Spin event. I am now just over half way through this satirical and delightful tale of little Amy Dorrit and her family, which feels almost like a re-read, as I have such fond memories of the BBC’s 2008 TV series. I also found it helpful to switch from my Kindle to a physical copy I got from the library. πŸ›

Alongside this, I have continued to dip in and out of the Celtic Daily Prayer: Book One by the Northumbria Community (2015) and my Holy Bible. ✝

As I used most of my precious, limited time at home this week for reading, I hardly watched any television. I wasn’t able to continue my viewing of series one of the classic, American sci-fi television drama, Star Trek. The bit of time I did have I squeezed in some of my favourite YouTubers’ latest videos, including: Cruising Alba,Β  NerdroticΒ andΒ  Super Enthused. 🌍

Yesterday, was the first time I sat down with time to properly watch something, and after finding Netflix’s newest true-crime limited series, Conversations With A Killer: The John Wayne Gacy Tapes (2022) interesting, I decided to try the earlier documentary, Conversations With a Killer: The Ted Bundy Tapes (2019). Another chilling and interesting watch, especially hearing Bundy talk of his crimes in the third person, acting as an advisor. God rest those poor girls and women. πŸ“Ό

Finally, last but not least, here are the posts I was able to share with you, over the past week:

Tuesday – Top Ten Tuesday | Flowery Book Covers For Spring 🌸

Thursday – Dodger by Terry Pratchett (2012) ⭐⭐

Please do check these out, if you haven’t already! 😊

The Sunday Post(I have linked this post into the weekly meme, Sunday Post)

For now, that’s all folks! Where ever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless and bye for now! πŸ‘‹

What have you been doing, reading and watching? Please let me know in the comments below, or leave a link to your own Sunday post. I love to chat with you all!

23 thoughts on “πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | 1st May 2022

  1. That sounds like a very full week! I hope your grandfather’s procedure goes well, and that his health improves.

    I was unfamiliar with the Celtic Daily Prayer book, but having looked it up on Goodreads after reading this post, I have just ordered a copy (an older edition, with both years in it.) I have been feeling the need to get back to a practice of daily prayer, and this seems like a good place to start. So thank you for bringing it to my attention!

    1. Thank you so much, Lark – My grandfather’s procedure went well, although took longer than expected, and he is now home and much more comfortable. ❀ I also hope you will enjoy and find the Celtic Daily Prayer book useful. πŸ™

  2. That’s good news about your students. I’ll be sure to keep your grandfather in my thoughts and prayers. Hope all goes well and that you have a good week, Jessica!

    1. Thank you for keeping my grandfather in your thoughts and prayers, Tessa – His procedure went well, although took longer than expected, and he is now home and much more comfortable. ❀

  3. Praying for your grandfather to have an uneventful, successful procedure this week. ❀ I'm also glad you had a chance to meet with your book club this week after two years. I hope you have a wonderful week. Thank you for stopping by my blog.

    1. Thank you so much for your prayers for my grandfather – His procedure went well, although took longer than expected, and he is now home and much more comfortable. ❀

  4. Sounds like a really busy week for you. Those true-crime series sound interesting.

    My best wishes and prayers to your grandfather. I hope all goes well.

    Have a great week!

    1. I have continued to be very busy, Yvonne! Thank you for your best wishes and prayers for my grandfather – His procedure went well, although took longer than expected, and he is now home and much more comfortable. ❀

  5. That does sound like a busy week! And best wishes and prayers to your grandfather for May 3!

    Glad you were able to get a little reading in anyway! And have a nice week!

    1. Thank you for your best wishes and prayers for grandfather – His procedure went well, although took longer than expected, and he is now home and much more comfortable. ❀

  6. That definitely sounds like a very busy week. And how exciting that your book club finally was able to meet up.
    I’ll keep your grandfather in my thoughts this week Jessica.
    Have a great week and happy reading.

    1. Thank you for your well wishes and for keeping my grandfather it your thoughts – His procedure went well, although took longer than expected, and he is now home and much more comfortable. ❀

  7. I imagine those true crime series are quite chilling! One of my daughters has always enjoyed reading about serial killers. I’m not sure what that says about her! πŸ˜±πŸ˜‰

    Sounds like you had a good week. πŸ™‚

    1. Haha about your daughter! While now and again I like to watch a true crime series, not sure I would want to read a book about them, I always find reading about things worse than watching though! πŸ˜…

  8. Wow, it looks like you had a very busy week!
    I kept reading “Twenty years later”, which is possibly even more beautiful than the three musketeers. I am kind of happy that it’s so long: this way, it will keep me company for a longer time.
    I watched – or rather listened to- a few history podcasts as usual.
    The rest of my spare time was divided between the kitchen and the balcony (and the cat).

    1. I certainly have been having a very busy time, Guylene! Reading Twenty Years Later and dividing your time between the kitchen and the balcony with your cat sounds divine! 😊

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.