πŸ“– Heidi by Johanna Spyri (1880) β­β­β­

HeidiGood day, my friends and fellow bookworms, today I am bringing you my thoughts on the children’s classic, Heidi by Johanna Spyri, which was published in 1880. Hoping to continue my light, fun reading in April, I decided to request a lovely illustrated copy of this novel from the library, a title which has languished on my list for The Classics Club for many years.

The book opens with Heidi, a small five year old orphan, being dragged up a steep path to the Swiss village of DΓΆrfli by her exasperated Aunt Dete; who, having been offered a good position in Frankfurt, plans to unburden herself of Heidi onto her grandfather. The villagers, on hearing this news, fear for the child as Heidi’s grandfather, better known as the “Alm-Uncle”, is a notoriously gruff recluse, who lives high up and exposed on the side of the mountain.

However Heidi, with her sweet, loving character, intelligence and enthusiasm for life and nature, starts to thaw the heart of her misjudged grandfather, and they spend a happy winter together, cosseted up tight in his well-appointed cabin. Then with the coming of spring her friendship with Peter, the young goat-herd, blossoms, and she makes frequent trips to see Peter’s blind grandmother, bringing joy and light to her small, dark world.

Suddenly, into this idyllic life, Aunt Dete returns to force Heidi to leave the mountain and all she loves, to take a good position as a companion to a sickly rich girl in the city. There Heidi is surrounded by luxury and plenty, makes fast friends, starts her education and forms a strong, simple faith; but also mistakenly gets into trouble and grows extremely homesick – Worrying about whether she will ever see Grandfather, their goats, Peter or Grandmother again.

All this is told in a gentle, easily flowing style, from the delightful perspectiveΒ  of Heidi, who sees everything and everyone with the honest enthusiasm of a pure, unaffected soul. There is a lot of focus on the beautiful detail of nature e.g. the plethora of flowers on the mountainside, which is in stark contrast to the grey streets of the city, and the importance of the thoughts and feelings of children. I also found the simple faith in God, prayer and love portrayed inspiring and very comforting. With all of these coming together for a happy and satisfying ending.

Overall. I thought Heidi was a timeless coming-of-age tale, that explores the power of love, nature, and a simpler life, as well as how to overcome hardships with thankfulness. An utterly delightful read, that brought me comfort, joy and solace. It is a classic for a reason!

My Rating: Great ⭐⭐⭐

The Classics Club( Read #36 for The Classics Club (II) )

Now I’d love to hear from you: Have you read this? Any recommendations for other charming children’s classics you think I should check out next? Let me know in the comments below.

18 thoughts on “πŸ“– Heidi by Johanna Spyri (1880) β­β­β­

  1. Heidi was the very first book I owned. A whole book for myself, that was quite a delight for seven-year-old me who had her appendix taken out and spent a very unhappy week in hospital. Hence my love for this book.

    A couple of years ago, I made a list of children’s books and just checked whether there were any other books like this. I suppose you know all the English ones and probably also some of the foreign ones. I think closest to this one would be the Bullerby children or Seacrow Island by Astrid Lindgren or Daddy Longlegs by Jean Webster (an English one again). Another great one I found when I was an adult ist The Hundred Dresses. Links are all in my post.

    1. Oh Marianne how wonderful that Heidi was the very first booked you owned as a child! πŸ₯° Also thank you for all the lovely children’s reading suggestions – I have looked them up and added them ALL to my Goodread’s ‘Want to Read’ list! Hope to hear from you again soon.

      Love & Blessings, Jessica πŸ’Œ

      1. I’m glad I could help. πŸ˜‰
        I am sure you will enjoy them all, the Bullerby children were one of my favourites already in childhood and there are several books about them.

        Have a good time!

  2. I’m glad you enjoyed reading Heidi. I read it as a kid and watched the movie. All I really remember about it was that it made me sad. Excellent review!

    1. Aw thank you, Tessa but what a shame you only really remember the story making you sad, although I can understand why, seeing Heidi’s homesickness is very sad. ❀

  3. I do believe I read an abridged version of this book when I was a little girl. I remember a great deal about it, but part of that might also be because of the movie with Shirley Temple playing Heidi!

    1. Aw Davida it is lovely to hear you have childhood memories of reading and watching this charming story. I am not sure I have ever watched the the film starring Shirley Temple – I will have to go check that out. 😊

      1. It really was a memorable for me. I can still hear her voice shouting “Grandfather, Grandfather!” with that peculiar careful diction she spoke with.

  4. I am glad you enjoyed Heidi – it is still a delightful read even in these jaded times. You have Black Beauty and Swallows and Amazons on your list already, I see — those are great choices! And Journey to the River Sea, a modern classic I would say. I am not sure what else to recommend… have you read the Green Knowe books by Lucy Boston?

    1. Lory, I think this is exactly the type of book I need in these jaded times, so I look forward to Black Beauty, Swallows and Amazons, and Journey to the River Sea if they have, in anyway, similar feel. And thank you for the recommendation – I haven’t heard of the Green Knowe books by Lucy Boston, so I will have to go check them out. 😊

  5. I have a copy of this on my shelf that I feel certain I read as a child. Have you read E.B. White’s books? Most folks have read Charlotte’s Web, but Stuart Little and The Trumpet of the Swan are also very good.

    1. I suspect I could have read this as a child too, but I have no memory of it, so treated this as a new read! And thank you, for the recommendations, Kelly – I haven’t read anything by E.B. White although I have, of course, heard of Charlotte’s Web. 😊

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.