Sunday Reflection | 22nd March 2020

(A view of my garden, bathed in sunshine earlier today)

Hello everyone and a blessed Sunday to you all. I hope this post finds you all well. This week, the ‘pandemic-that-shall-not-be-named’ has turned my life and I am sure your lives upside down, so let’s not focus on it anymore. Instead lets reflect back on what we’ve been reading, watching and doing over the last week:

There is nothing better to escape into than a good book and this week that book has been the magical, historical-fiction, The Toymakers by Robert Dinsdale for me. An adult fairytale that follows teenage runaway, Cathy as she finds a home in Papa Jack’s Emporium; where they make the most marvelous toys, that capture the imagination of children and adults alike. πŸ’‚β€β™‚οΈπŸ§šβ€β™€οΈ

Whilst on the screen, I started watching the BBC’s nostalgic Back in Time Corner Shop, where the Ardern family experience running this great British institution through the decades; and the second series of True Blood, because let’s face it, what troubling times are not forgotten when watching some sexy-ass vampires?! πŸ˜‰

Another comfort watch has been working my way through the back catalogue of one of my favourite shows: the British archaeological series Time Team, on All4. Then when my dad and I had our Friday night, Indian takeaway, with a few beers, we watched Tarantino’s Django Unchained, a bloody revisionist Western. 🀠


With my school closing; my social events cancelled; and church services and groups suspended, I have had a lot of time to myself in the house. For work, I have spent my time planning and organising resources for the kids and when not working, distracting myself with books, TV, naps and relaxing yoga, as I believe it is good to try to keep my body and mind happy and healthy. πŸ§˜β€β™€οΈ

With that in mind, I also had a go at making Jamie Oliver’s Lovely Lamb Pie recipe, from his Save With Jamie cookbook, with the leftover lamb and other ingredients I had to hand. While the prep is relatively quick and easy, it does take over 2 hours to cook, but it turned out to be well worth the time. A hearty and comforting pie, which I served with a mixture of veg and onion gravy. πŸ˜‹

While here on the blog, I started the week by sharing my review of the cosy-crime fiction, Progressive Dinner Deadly by Elizabeth Spann Craig and I shared my spring to-be-read list in my post for the weekly meme, Top Ten Tuesday. Then on Wednesday, I took part in the weekly WWW Wednesday meme. With the continuing social-distancing, I really must use the extra time to catch up on my review writing.


Now that’s all folks! I look forward to catching up with you all next Sunday. Where ever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless, peace be with you and bye for now! πŸ™

Now over to you: I’d love to hear what you have been reading, watching and doing this past week?


I have linked this post into the weekly meme, The Sunday Post hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer.

28 thoughts on “Sunday Reflection | 22nd March 2020

  1. I’ve seen mentions of The Toy Maker before – sounds like something I might enjoy. And the sunshine in your yard looks glorious!

  2. You’ve got the right idea finding pleasure in small, every day things to take your mind off a situation we have no control over. I hope you are keeping well and continuing to find escapism through reading and cooking.

  3. I love cooking and Jamie Oliver. And I’m glad your cooking worked out as good as it did.
    These are deifnitely strange times.
    Stay save and happy reading.

  4. Perfect time to indulge in some nostalgia viewing. I suspect fir us it’s going to be another viewing of the West Wing series which will no doubt have us wishing Martin Sheen really was the president instead of the current idiot.

  5. Staying focused on positive things is a great idea! We had remote online church services and it was pretty neat! Happy reading and stay safe! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Rachel πŸ™‚ Our vicar live streamed himself reading the Gospel of Mark from our church on Sunday and it was open for private prayer, but from now on it will be completely closed. Keep yourself safe and happy reading!

  6. I like your idea of not dwelling on the virus-that-shall-not-named. Sounds good to me! It’s hard to escape the news… and the pie looks yummy! Nothing like good food. πŸ™‚

    Glad you had a nice relaxing week too. Your garden looks very relaxing…

    Take care this week!

    1. Thank you, Greg πŸ™‚ We’ve been blessed with more sunshine in the garden and the pie was just the comfort food we needed. You take care this week, too!

  7. I’m glad you’ve found some ways to keep busy during this stressful week. The Toymakers sounds like perfect escapism!

  8. I’ve been a picky reader but I did also try a couple new recipes which were a great success This week was our spring break so now there will be online classes for my daughter. We don’t mind being home but I hope we get a bit more routine going.

    Have a healthy week and enjoy some good reads!

    Anne – Books of My Heart Here is my Sunday Post Β Β 

    1. Hey Anne, thank you for stopping by and commenting. πŸ™‚ I am glad to hear you have tried a couple of successful new recipes. Stay safe and happy reading!

  9. It sounds like you’ve found plenty of ways to keep yourself occupied and, hopefully, not too stressed.

    Now that I’ve started using my library’s digital service a lot, I’ve found I have to sometimes read my book club’s selections farther in advance than usual. They’re either very popular in general, or some in my group are also needing to check out the only copies available. So… I’ve spent this week reading in advance! Thankfully several of them have online reading guides which will help me to remember details when we discuss them.

    1. Kelly, I used to have make notes when I was reading books for my church’s book club, as I used to forget quite a bit otherwise, too. I hope you’ve been enjoying your advance reading. πŸ™‚

  10. It is such a worrying time – I’m glad you have been able to bake and read. I hope the coming week is a peaceful, healthy one for you:)). Take care.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.