Top Ten Tuesday | 17th March 2020

Good morning, fellow bookworms. We have reached Tuesday and that can only mean one thing: it is time for Top Ten Tuesday! A weekly meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl, who each week assigns a new topic to inspires us to create a top ten list based on it. This week’s topic is:

Spring 2020 TBR (or whichever season it is where you live)

There are many wonderful books awaiting me on my bookshelf and Kindle, however here are ten books I am really hoping to get to over the milder, lighter months of March, April and May:

1. Lady Susan & The Watsons by Jane Austen – After recently reading Sanditon, I hope to finish off this collection of Austen’s shorter/unfinished works soon.

2. Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel – The award-winning, historical-fiction about Henry VIII’s right-hand man, Thomas Cromwell. A book that has been bumped up my TBR list after featuring it in my 10th Dec 2019 TTT list.

3. The Problem of Pain by C S Lewis – Having treated myself to a boxset of Lewis’ Christian work, the first book I fancy reading is this argument pain is not sufficient reason to reject belief in a good and powerful God. Perhaps apt in the current climate.

4. Lords and Ladies by Terry Pratchett – The next book I have, chronologically, from Pratchett’s fantastical Discworld series. It has been far too long since I read my last Discworld: Reaper Man last year.

5. The Phantom Tree by Nicola Cornick – A time slip, one of my favourite genres, from a new-to-me author, that I downloaded on a whim. Another book that I have bumped up my TBR list after featuring it in my 10th Dec 2019 TTT list.

6. Madam, Will You Talk? by Mary Stewart – After loving The Moonspinners last summer, I am eager to read another of Stewart’s modern, suspense classics, and in fact this is her very first one published.

7. Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen by Alison Weir – The third book from Weir’s ambitious six-book series, Six Tudor Queens. I loved the previous books about Katherine of Aragon and Anne Boleyn.

8. The Testament of Loki by Joanne M Harris – Looking forward to thus sequel after enjoying Harris’ refreshing, re-imagining of the Norse Gods and legends in The Gospel of Loki and Runemarks.

9. River Rising by John A. Heldt – The first book in Heldt’s latest Carson Chronicles series, which I look forward to starting after finishing Heldt’s previous, time-travelling series, American Journey.

10. Calysta and the Beast by Joanna Alonzo – The first book in new-to-me author, Alonzo’s The Sacred Scarred series, which is a modern-day, Christian retelling of Beauty and the Beast.


Now over to you: Have you read any of these? Are there any you think I should read first? What books do you hope to read this spring?

Also if you have taken part in this week’s TTT topic, too, then please leave a link for your post in the comments below, so I come check it out.

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | 17th March 2020

  1. Though I really like Austen adaptations (and probably watch too many to be honest!), I don’t read her books. Still, someday it might be fun to try and read a collection as you have featured here since I haven’t seen those stories in an on-screen format. 🙂 Thanks so much for the Finding Wonderland visit! I appreciate it.

    1. Rissi, I can’t believe you love watching Austen adaptations, but have never read one of her wonderful novels!! This could throw a spanner in the works, as there is a 2019 TV adaptation of Sanditon, which was shown on ITV here in the UK – Wanting to watch that was what encouraged me to start reading this collection. Happy reading/viewing! 😉

  2. I’m throwing my weight behind Wolf Hall. The style does take some getting used to and there are a large cast f characters but it’s just stunning. I’m now reading the even bigger third book in the trilogy…

  3. Some great titles on your list. I’m especially intrigued by The Problem of Pain, as I’ve never read any of Lewis’s non-fiction before, but this one sounds kind of appropriate in these times.

    1. Alyson, I think The Problem of Pain could be a very appropriate read with the current problems. If you haven’t read any of Lewis’s Christian non-fiction before, I’ll highly recommend Mere Christianity.

    1. Greg, I am not a doctor but I totally prescribe that you read some Pratchett, especially at this stressful/difficult time. His books never fail to lift my mood and make me smile/laugh-out-loud! 😁

  4. Great list! Wolf Hall is one that I really need to get to, too – it’s a little embarrassing that I haven’t read it yet considering how much of a Tudor nerd I am. I hope you enjoy all of these!

    1. How great that you got to take a class on C. S. Lewis – I am a little jealous. Although I did write my dissertation on The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. 😉 Thank you and happy reading to you, too.

  5. That looks like a good list. I haven’t read any of these. But The Phantom Tree has been on my TBR for a while now.
    Enjoy your reading! 😉

  6. I read the C.S.Lewis many years ago and still have it on my shelf. I’m sure I could benefit from reading it again. I’ve also read The Phantom Tree and thought it was very good! I feel certain I read that Mary Stewart, too, since I read most of her novels when I was much younger.

    Wolf Hall is on my library list and I have Discworld novel (Tiffany Aching series) waiting in my Kindle.

    I look forward to seeing which of these you choose.

    1. Kelly, pleased to hear there are few on my list that you have read/enjoyed and exciting that we both have Wolf Hall and a Discworld novel to look forward too. I also hope you have chance for a re-read of The Problem of Pain, especially if it would be beneficial at this time.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.