Sunday Reflection | 5th July 2020

(After a pretty dull week, it was wonderful to awaken to this glorious view this morning)

Hello everyone and a blessed Sunday to you all. I hope this post finds you all well. A cooler, damper week has passed and now its time to reflect back on what we’ve been reading, watching and doing over that time:

This week, my reading hit a real slump, as I found myself too tired after work to read for very long or even at all. However over the weekend, I did get back into reading small sections at a time of the award-winning, historical-fiction, Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel, and I am finding I am getting into it now.

While in my Holy Bible reading, I continued working my way through the gospel of John in the New Testament, but I have missed all of my church’s Morning Prayer livestreams, as they are on while I am now getting ready for work.


While on the screen, I finished watching the award-winning mini-series, Chernobyl, about the terrible nuclear disaster of April 1986 – disturbing, but also truly gripping viewing! Then I started watching the new Anglo-Spanish, mystery-thriller series, White Lines, on Netflix; which has been transporting  me from dull England to a world of parties, drugs, secrets and excess on the stunning island of Ibiza.

Then on Friday night, with our customary takeaway (this time pizza), we settled down to watch Sky’s Friday premiere of the Disney animated sequel, Frozen II (2019) – a sweet film with some funny moments, but the story and songs are not a patch on the first film. Also, yesterday, I snuggled into bed early, to enjoy a comforting re-watch of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2005).


As for work, I have been back in school pretty much full time, helping to support one of our new small classes. I have to admit it has been really tiring, but great to see some staff and pupils; be more physically useful; and to have a bit of normality back. This of course has impacted my free time – As I said above I have often been too tired for much reading this week, but I have continued watching TV; doing a little jogging and relaxing yoga; cooking comfort favourites; and finally I enjoyed my well-deserved soak in the bath with a face mask, last night (my new weekly routine).

While here on the blog, I shared my New Books of June 2020; my monthly round-ups: What I Read In June 2020 and What I Watched In June 2020; AND  an announcement for the yearly meme, Six in Six 2020 Edition. Phew! What a blogging week, although I have to admit they were all pre-scheduled posts 😉, which is lucky because I was too tired to check my blog this last week!


Now that’s all folks! I look forward to catching up with you all next Sunday. Where ever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless and bye for now! 🙏

Now over to you: I’d love to hear what you have been reading? Have you watched anything good? What have you been doing now restrictions are starting to ease?


I have linked this post into the weekly meme, The Sunday Post hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer.

25 thoughts on “Sunday Reflection | 5th July 2020

  1. Wolf Hall is pretty chunky. I don’t think I’d be excited to read it if tired…
    I’m not that excited by Frozen II but I’ve sure I’ll watch it at some point to see what it’s about. People really seem to love that movie (and the original) but my Disney preferences run more towards Moana or Lilo and Stitch. 🙂

    Hope you have a good week!

    1. Nicci, I agree Wolf Hall is a chunkster and not what a tired mind always needs, but thankfully I have managed to get more into this week by reading bitesize amounts at a time. I hope you enjoy Frozen II when you eventually watch it – As I said above enjoyable but not great. I also LOVE Moana 😍

  2. Glad Wolf Hall is getting better! And it’s been hot here all week, so a cooler week sounds kind of nice- although maybe not the damp part haha. 🙂 I’ve been seeing White Lines pop up when I log in to Netflix. I was wondering if it was good.

    Hope you have a good week ahead!

    1. Thank you, Greg and can we do a weather swap please?! 😅 And yes, I have really been enjoying White Lines – Hope you do too if you decide to try it. 🙂

  3. I’m glad the weather has cleared up for you, it has been raining very heavily all day in Scotland. Wolf Hall is a very slow burn, and maybe not the easiest read if you are tired, but I’m glad you’re starting to get into it, as it is ultimately very rewarding

    1. Sadly, Alyson, that was our one dry and sunny day, the clouds, wind and rain returned this week! And thank you, I am getting more and more into Wolf Hall. 🙂

  4. I’ve heard that Wolf Hall is fabulous but I haven’t made the time to tackle it myself. I will have to think about the 6 in 6 meme. It sounds like a great option for reflecting on my reading so far this year. Enjoy your week!

  5. You’ve had a busy week, no wonder your reading slowed. I recently purchased the ebook of Wolf Hall… was hoping to do a quick reread before continuing the series, but that hasn’t happened yet. What a beautiful blue sky!

    1. The sky was beautiful wasn’t it, JoAnn? You can see why I was so thrilled to awake to that after a dull, wet week. I hope you’re able to get to a re-read of Wolf Hall soon, so you can continue reading the series. 🙂

    1. Thank you, Kimberly 😊 I had been listening to the Harry Potter audiobooks and finding them really comforting and convenient – I really must get back to them! I hope you have a lovely week, too! 🙂

  6. I’m pleased to hear your perseverance with Wolf Hall has paid off and that you’ve been able to get into it now.

    You definitely had a busy week and I’m glad you had the foresight to schedule some posts for us. 🙂

  7. Wow.. those seem like great reads. I am glad you enjoyed them, even though you did not read many books this month.

  8. Beautiful picture! It is tiring going out to work instead of doing it from home, right? A good soak with a face mask sounds perfect! I love relaxing and reading in the bath! I liked the 1st Frozen better too. Have a lovely week, Jessica!

    1. Thank you, Rachel 😊 It is definitely more physically tiring being back in work, but I was finding it very mentally hard working at home, especially as my job is usually, intrinsically social! Glad to hear your a fellow bath reader and that I am not the only one who much preferred the first Frozen film, phew! 😃 I hope you have a lovely week, too!

  9. Gosh! I’m not surprised that you are finding you are too tired to do much reading – especially as Wolf Hall might be a fabulous read, but it isn’t easy! I am sure that the new normal at school is exhausting – the children must need so much support just now… I am so full of admiration at the way teachers have risen to the challenge. Take care and I hope you get a chance to put your feet up today:))

    1. Thank you, SJ – I did have a lovely, relaxing Sunday and I do feel like I have a little more energy this week, as I get used to the new routine. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.