Sunday Reflection | 27th September 2020

(Another bright, sunny morning, but don’t be fooled, it is cold out there!)

Hello everyone and a blessed Sunday to you all. I hope this post finds you all well. A bright but cold week has passed, and now it is time to reflect on what we’ve been reading, watching and doing over that time:

This week, I have been reading the Christian non-fiction, The Bible Jesus Read by Philip Yancey, which is the next read for my church’s book club. Unfortunately, I have still not made much progress on my other current reads: the dual-narrative, historical-fiction, The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley and the classic adventure, Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne.

While in my Hoy Bible reading,  I have been working my way through 2 Corinthians, the second of the apostle Paul’s collection of letters to the church in Corinth, Greece, in the New Testament.


While on the screen, I finished watching the beautifully-crafted, new Jim Henderson series, The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance, on Netflix (Sadly this week I learnt that the second series has been cancelled 🙁). Next I started watching the newest series of the science-fiction, historical drama, Project Blue Book, that is taking me back to the 1950’s for some more UFO investigations, on NowTV.

I have also continued working my way back through season 13 and then season 14 of one of my favourites TV shows: the British archaeological series Time Team. Finally on Friday night, with our Indian takeaway, not fancying Sky’s premiere of Judy (2019), we re-watched the disturbing, serial-killer thriller, Se7en (1995), starring the brilliant duo of Morgan Freeman and Brad Pitt.


This week at work, we re-opened full-time for all pupils that are able to come in, which saw us moving from class ‘bubbles’ to key stage ‘bubbles’. Hard work but well worth it. So being pretty tired from all that, I only managed to do a little reading, comfort watching and yoga each day. While yesterday, I found time for a jog and in the evening treated myself to meal out at a new, local Japanese restaurant, where we enjoyed a fabulous sushi platter and a big bowl of Curry Udon (pictured). 🍜

While here on the blog, it has again been regrettably quiet and I have not been able to pop over much to your blogs. However I was able to join in with my favourite weekly memes: Top Ten Tuesday: Books On My Autumn TBR 2020 and WWW Wednesday: 23rd September 2020. Please check this out if you haven’t already. Thank you! 😊


Later today, my dad and I will be taking my grandad out for a slightly, belated birthday meal at a local Harvester. For now though, that’s all folks! I look forward to catching up with you all next Sunday. Where ever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless and bye for now! 🙏

Now over to you: I’d love to hear what you have been reading? Have you watched anything good? Have you managed any nice days out?


I have linked this post into the weekly meme, The Sunday Post hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer.

12 thoughts on “Sunday Reflection | 27th September 2020

  1. I hope you had a fun little outing with your dad and grandfather. It sounds wonderful.
    And I’m sorry to read that the show you’re watching doesn’t get a new season. I’m always so bumped when that happens.
    Have a great week and happy reading.

    1. Thank you, Maureen 😊 and I did have a lovely little outing with my dad and grandad, where we enjoyed a veritable feast out – I feared I might need to be rolled home! 😅

  2. Ooh Project Blue Book! I think I started that series and watched the first episode or two but then fell away. I need to get back to it. And good luck with school! Glad to hear the reopening is going well so far. 🙂

    1. Thank you, Greg 🙂 – The re-opening of school has gone as well as can be expected really. Just hard to get used to the new rules and regulations for our new ‘bubble’ system. I hope you are able to get back to watching Project Blue Book, as I really enjoyed season one. although I am not as gripped by season two, so far. 👽

  3. I hope you enjoy your time out with your dad and grandad! And congrats for finally having schools open. I’ve been mostly reading audiobooks for the last two weeks. I just started reading Julia Quinn’s Bridgertons series and I love it. I’m on book 3 already. Have a great week!

    1. Thank you, Ruby-Jo 🙂 and yes, I had a lovely time out with my dad and grandad, where we indulged in a veritable feast out – I feared I might need to be rolled home! 😅 I hope you continue to enjoy your audiobooks this week.

  4. A belated happy birthday to your granddad! I hope y’all had a pleasant time out.

    It was a rainy week here, but at least the temperature has been a little cooler. It’s currently 84F/29C.

    Hope you have a good week ahead, and get to read a little more!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.