πŸ“š WWW Wednesday | 9th December 2020

Good morning, fellow bookworms. It is β€˜Hump Day’ Wednesday which means we are halfway through the working week (if you’re at work) and it is time for WWW Wednesday! A weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words, which simply involves answering the following Three Ws:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

I’m afraid two tiring weeks have passed since my last WWW post. Thankfully. I have continued reading, but I have been finding it hard to blog during the week. Here’s what I’ve been reading in that time:


~ Currently Reading ~

Over the last week or so, I have been reading the Victorian classic, Mary Barton by Elizabeth Gaskell, which was my result forΒ The Classics Club’s 25th Spin Event. I am very much enjoying this tale of the young, poor Mary, and her family and friends, in the industrious, Northern city of Manchester during very difficult times. However I have been taking my time with it, as it is quite a harrowing tale, although now I have hit the juicy part of this drama, I am reading a little bit quicker. It shouldn’t be long till I finish this. πŸ’”


~ Recently Finished ~

Before Novellas in November and Nonfiction November came to an end, I was able to finish reading one more short non-fiction, which was Martin Luther and John Calvin: Leaders of the Protestant Reformation by Charles River Editors. A quick and interesting read about the lives and teachings of these two early and important reformers.✝ It was also a good follow up to my earlier reads of Katharina: Deliverance by Margaret Skea and Luther and the 9.5 Theses by Kenneth Brownell.


~ Reading Next ~

With my current sad reading, next I feel I need something more fun and comforting. With that in mind I am being drawn to reading the nostalgic, murder-mystery, O Jerusalem by Laurie R. King: the fifth Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes mystery. This instalment holds exotic promises, as it sees them investigating in British-occupied Palestine, which sounds like exactly what I need! 😊


That’s it for now, folks! All that is left to say is take care, happy reading, and please feel free to share a link in the comments below for your own WWW post, so we can come check it out! I hope to see you again next week for some more bookish chat! πŸ‘‹πŸ“šπŸ˜ƒ

Now I’d love to hear from you: What are you currently reading? What did you recently finish reading? What do you think you’ll read next?

13 thoughts on “πŸ“š WWW Wednesday | 9th December 2020

    1. Nikki, I really hope you are enjoying The Last Hero by Terry Pratchett – I have a wonderful illustrated hardback of The Last Hero that my dad bought me one Christmas. 😊

  1. I recently finished reading Shadow of a Dead God which was very good. Now reading Blood Heir by Ilona Andrews and next up – not sure yet. I have about 6 books I’d like to complete but I think that’s probably a bit over ambitious.
    Lynn πŸ˜€

    1. Lynn, I am really pleased to hear your enjoyed Shadow of a Dead God so much and I hope Blood Heir was good; and good luck getting through those six books you have lined up, even if it takes you a bit into the new year. πŸ™‚

  2. Such an interesting reading list!
    I read North and South by Elizabeth Gaskel and I enjoyed it a lot! Interesting to see that Mary Barton also deals with an industrial city.

    1. Thank you, Georgiana πŸ™‚ I finished reading Mary Barton last night and it was very good, and certainly had a lot of similarities to Gaskell’s later North and South.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.