πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | My October 2021 Wrap-Up πŸ‚ & The End of R.I.P πŸŽƒ

Hello everyone, a blessed Sunday and safe All Hallows’ Eve to you all. I hope this post finds you all well. A wet, emotional and tiring October has flown by here in the UK for me and now it is time to reflect on what we’ve been doing, reading and watching over that time.

πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ Life πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

First, I have to apologise for going AWOL for a couple of weeks at the beginning of October, which started with a lovely weekend away in Kent, but was extended by the tiredness and low mood caused by a stressful, busy schedule and my change of hours at work. Topped off with the sucker punch blow of myself and ‘my boys’ being split up due to the closure of our class. 😟

Thankfully, this past week was the school’s half-term break, which gave me time to rest, reflect and look into some possible work options going forward. Other positives have been the return of my weekly dance class; seeing the awesome Christian band Rend Collective play at a small, local arena; and my continued effort to take good care of myself with soothing superfood lattes and immune boosting food. πŸ₯£

πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ Reading πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

You will not believe it though… through all that my reading actually increased! Maybe due to me needing to escape from the world of an evening, meant I was able to finish these three books:

  • The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas – Classic ⭐⭐⭐
  • Agatha Raisin and the Fairies of Fryfam by M.C. Beaton – Cosy Crime ⭐⭐
  • The Man Who Died Twice by Richard Osman – Cosy Crime ⭐⭐⭐

It was great to finally reach the end of the epic The Count of Monte Cristo! Don’t get me wrong, I LOVED it, but it is a veeery long novel! After that I was at long last able to start my belated R.I.P reading, losing myself in two ultra-comforting cosy crime capers with some brilliant amateur sleuths. The latter of which, The Man Who Died Twice, has to be my pick of the month for sheer fun value. πŸ”Ž

The end of October also means the end of the R.I.P. reading event, so only two books read for it this year, but two very good ones! Plus, this week, I also started and I am already a good way into the vintage thriller The Land God Gave to Cain by Hammond Innes, which was perfect for this event too, just haven’t finished it to officially count it. πŸŽƒ

πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ Viewing πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

On the other hand, it is not surprising that my viewing has stayed high, and even improved due to my week off, as I enjoyed snuggling up in a blanket with my cat, as the rain fell outside, to watch these six new-to-me shows and films:

This was another good, consistent month of viewing. Except being disappointed with the weirdly ambiguous ending of The Little Things, these were all very close for enjoyment, with no huge stand out watch. My pick of the month goes to How to Become a Tyrant, as I watched all six episodes in a row!

Three of these were also perfect towards the R.I.P’s ‘Peril on the Screen’ subsection, along with my September views of the supernatural-comedy film Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit (2005)Β and the crime-thriller TV series The Serpent (2021). On top of which, I also enjoyedΒ re-watches of Beetlejuice (1988), Batman (1989), The Haunting (1999) and Sleepy Hollow (1999). πŸ‘»

πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ Blog πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

Finally, here on the blog things were pretty non-existent when I went AWOL at the beginning of October, sorry! My only review posted over the month was:

However things did pick up! I had great fun taking part in The Classic’s Club 28th Spin Event and two of Top Ten Tuesday’s weekly topics on My Favourite Spooky Book Settings andΒ Spooky & Mysterious Reading Recommendations. I shared my unboxing of My 3rd Teatime Bookshop Book Box and my reading plans for the upcoming November reading events. So plenty for youΒ to check out, if you haven’t already. πŸ™‚


For now, that’s all folks! I look forward to catching up with you all next Sunday for my regular weekly reflection; and in a month’s time to see how November has treated us all. Wherever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless and bye for now!πŸ‘‹

(I have linked this post into the weekly meme,Β The Sunday Post)

Now in the comments let me know: How you are? What you have been reading and watching? Or please leave a link to your own Sunday post or monthly wrap-up post.

20 thoughts on “πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | My October 2021 Wrap-Up πŸ‚ & The End of R.I.P πŸŽƒ

  1. Happy Halloween! Don’t apologize. Life gets hard at times. And you have to take care of yourself first. πŸ˜‰
    I hope this month is the start of a much better time for you πŸ˜‰
    Have a great week and happy reading.

  2. I’m sure you’ll find something great going forward. It sounds like you are trying to keep positive and that really has an impact on being able to see the opportunities that come your way. Good luck, my friend!

  3. I’m sorry again to hear about your class. I hope you have good news going forward. and yay for Monte cristo. That’s an accomplishment- that book is huge!

    There’s nothing better than curling up with a good show on a rainy day! πŸ™‚

  4. I have to keep reminding myself to finish the Agatha Raisin series. I did enjoy the books I read. I hope your November is a better month for you. Have a great week!

  5. This was a good RIP year for me with a record number of books! I still have one I hope I can finish today.

    I’m glad your reading increased this month and maybe November will be even better for you with your two challenges!

    Your kitty looks very cute (and Halloweenish) in your banner photo. 😸

    1. Thank you, Kelly – It is great to hear this was a good R.I.P year for you and I hope November is treating you well. πŸ‚ And yes, my cat definitely knows how to put on the cuteness when she wants something! 😸

  6. Happy Halloween and have a great November! I have been wanting to read some Agatha Raisin. I have watched some of the shows on BritBox.

    Enjoy your week!

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

    1. Thank you, Laurel-Rain – I hope November is treating you well and that you have the chance to check out some of the Agatha Raisin books. I tried watching the TV series but it didn’t work for me. πŸ™‚

  7. Happy Halloween! I hope you’re having a great day and wishing you a great start of the new month tomorrow with amazing reads.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.