πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | 15th May 2022

Hello friends and a blessed Sunday to you all! πŸ™ I hope this post finds you all well. A sunny and super busy fortnight has passed by for me; and now it is time to share what I’ve been doing, reading, and watching over that time.

I must first apologise for having been away and so quiet for two weeks! The first of these weeks I had a quiet week, going to work by day but having to rest my poor, pollen-aggravated sinuses by evening. However I did enjoy a nice relaxing Bank Holiday Monday off work and then Friday I set off with a friend for a wonderful weekend away in the heart of Kent – Just the boost to my soul that I needed. 😌

Then, with my new found energy, I had a good week at work this past week, even with staff absence and having to cover different roles. While outside of school, I also worked at the charity youth group on Tuesday evening; I went to my dance class on Wednesday evening; and enjoyed drinks in the sunshine, for a friend’s birthday, yesterday. 🌞

I must also sends big thanks out to all those for their continued prayers and good wishes for my grandfather and my friend’s prem-baby. Update: my grandad’s procedure is complete and he is now back home, and my friend’s prem-baby no longer needs an incubator and has been moved to our local hospital. ❀

Again considering first my poorly sinuses and then my sheer busyness, I continued still managed to make steady progress through the weighty Victorian classic tome, Little Dorrit by Charles Dickens (1855). I am now just over three-quarters of a way through this satirical and delightful tale of little Amy Dorrit and her family, which feels almost like a re-read, as I have such fond memories of the BBC’s 2008 TV series. Definitely, pleased I switched from my Kindle to a physical copy I got from the library. πŸ›

Alongside this, I have continued to dip in and out of the Celtic Daily Prayer: Book One by the Northumbria Community (2015) and my Holy Bible; in particular the Gospel of Mark, that our speaker on my weekend away chose to focus on. Also I have just started the classic Christian non-fiction, Knowing God by J.I. Packer (1973), which I chose to be our next read for my church’s book club. ✝

Over the long weekend, I sprinted through the fifth and final season of the British historical TV drama series, The Last Kingdom (2015-22), based onΒ Bernard Cornwell’sΒ The Saxon Stories series of novels. A brilliant and epic saga of Saxons vs Danes, with a satisfying ending for our hero Uhtred of Bebbanburg, that made me cry, laugh, and cheer in equal measure. A great watch! Highly recommend this hidden gem of a series if you haven’t tried it. βš”

After that I had precious, little time at home and this I mainly devoted to reading and playing Animal Crossing, so I didn’t watch anymore television; not even a single episode of the classic, American sci-fi television drama, Star Trek. However I did squeeze in some of my favourite YouTubers’ latest videos, including: Cruising Alba,Β  Nerdrotic andΒ Super Enthused. Then, Friday night, I thoroughly enjoyed a re-watch of the American supernatural comedy film, Ghostbusters: Afterlife (2021). πŸ‘»

Finally, last but not least, here are the posts and review I was able to share with you, over the past fortnight:

Monday (2nd) – My April 2022 Book Journal

Tuesday (3rd) – Top Ten Tuesday | One-Word Reviews for the Last Ten Books I Have Read

Thursday (5th) – Anne of Avonlea by L.M. Montgomery (1909) ⭐⭐⭐

Please do check these out, if you haven’t already! 😊

The Sunday Post(I have linked this post into the weekly meme, Sunday Post)

For now, that’s all folks! Where ever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless and bye for now! πŸ‘‹

What have you been doing, reading and watching? Please let me know in the comments below, or leave a link to your own Sunday post. I love to chat with you all!

7 thoughts on “πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | 15th May 2022

  1. It sounds like you’ve been having a good time with your trip to Kent. Happy to hear that your grandad is back home and your friend’s baby is doing so well.
    Lynn πŸ˜€

  2. So much good news! I’m glad everyone is doing well. I’m sure that will continue. And sounds like you had a nice restful period – just what we all need from time to time. I hope you continue to have such wonderful days ahead ❀️

  3. That is such good news. and glad that you were able to have a nice couple weeks! I’ve seen the first couple seasons of Last Kingdom- it was quite good. I should catch up!

  4. I’m glad you were able to have a nice holiday. I’m sorry your allergies have been acting up. My husband’s and my cat’s have as well. I’m also glad your grandfather and your friend’s baby are doing better. πŸ™‚

  5. Thanks for the updates. I’ve had my group at church praying for both, so I’ll let them know things are going well for both.

    I think I’d pick Animal Crossing over TV. πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.