πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | 17th July 2022 πŸŒ€

Hello friends and a blessed Sunday to you all! πŸ™ I hope this post finds you all well. Today I am going to be sharing with you what I’ve been doing and reading over the last week or so.

It has been very warm and sunny here in little, old England. With the weather and what an extremely busy time it is, as we run down to the end of the school year,Β I have often struggled to even enjoy my shady reading spot I have found for my lunch break. However we did go on a wonderful trip to a local farm; held a successful Sports Day; and were treated to a delicious pizza lunch one day too. πŸ˜…

Outside of work, I have been trying to stay as cool as possible: keeping the windows, blinds and curtains shut; taking plenty of cool showers and strategically placing fans around the house! When I have ventured outside it was for a quick visit to the library and shops, and to a friends house for an evening BBQ. πŸ”

To help organise myself better, keep all my notes in one place, and track my health, I have started a bullet journal. So far I have really enjoyed experimenting with simple but pretty lay outs for my weekly spreads, and it has definitely helped organise my tasks and calm my anxiety. πŸ“”

With the busy-ness, high temperatures and restless nights, I have not had as much chances to read as I would have liked, so I have tried to pick up some shorter, lighter, comforting books.

Agatha Raisin and the Love From Hell by M.C. Beaton (2001) – From the library, I borrowed a copy of this mystery novel, which is the 11th instalment in Beaton’s long-running, cosy-crime series. This time our old Aggie’s new husband disappears, and blood and signs of a struggle are discovered! I raced through this short, fun amateur sleuthing romp in a few days, just what I needed. ⭐⭐

Soul Music by Terry Pratchett (1994) – Hoping for a similar quick, fun read, I next reached for this fantasy-comedy novel from one of my favourite authors, which is also the 16th instalment in Pratchett’s fantastical Discworld series. This adventure revolves around the much-loved character of Death and his grand-daughter, Susan, and a new, addictive craze: Music With Rocks In! I haven’t read much yet, so looking forward to getting properly stuck in. 🎢

Future Glory by Ed Hindson (2021) – I have also continued to work my way through my brand-new copy of this Christian non-fiction, which is our July read for my church’s book club. It is an exploration of the seven unique promises that outline what’s in store for every Christian, from the prophecies of the book of Revelations. Honestly, though Revelations boggles me and so does this book a little too! I fear I won’t be finishing it in time for our meeting this coming Thursday. ✝

The Sunday Post(I have linked this post into the weekly meme, Sunday Post)

For now, that’s all folks! Where ever you are in the world, I wish you and your loved ones well. God bless and bye for now! πŸ‘‹

What have you been doing, reading and watching? Please let me know or leave a link to your own Sunday post below in the comments. I love to chat with you all!

19 thoughts on “πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | 17th July 2022 πŸŒ€

  1. Yes… it’s something when we have to mention the heat as a major issue in the UK, isn’t it?? We’re really only set up for drizzle! I hope you enjoy Soul Music as much as I have – I also got hold of the audio version last year and it was huge fun:). I’ve watched the Agatha Raison series on TV, but I think I’d also enjoy the books. I hope the last week of term isn’t too trying, given the crazy temperatures we’re expecting!

    1. Thank you, SJ – I hope you have been okay as temperatures peaked at the beginning of the week?! I haven’t found much time to read Soul Music, but really looking forward to getting properly stuck into it on my holiday. As for Agatha Raisin I think they are really fun reads – I did try the pilot episode for the TV series, but found the characters too different and so I didn’t watch on.

      1. Yes… I find the characters in the TV series seem really silly a lot of the time – and I’m guessing that isn’t the dynamic with the books! I need to tuck into one and find out for myself:)). As for the heat – it felled me, rather. And I’m still battling with the sneezing and constant running nose, which is also taking chunks out of my energy levels, sadly.

    1. Thank you, Bonnie! But the heatwave got worse before it got better – Finally, ending this Wednesday just gone! πŸ₯΅ As for Future Glory, I would wait till I share my full thoughts on it before you pick up a copy! 😏

  2. I used to bullet journal when I was working. I really loved letting my creativity run wild. Now that I’m not working, I don’t need one. I miss it, though. I hope you get some relief from the heat. I know England isn’t prepared for that type of heat. I hope you have a great week.

  3. Having finished the Tiffany Aching novels, I’ve been adding select Discworld stories to my TBR. Pending your review, Soul Music may have to be added! I already have Mort on my list and perhaps it should be read first.

    I wish you well during the coming week of high temperatures. It’s been very hot here, as well, but we’re more accustomed to it with air-conditioning, etc.

    1. Thank you so much, Kelly! It has been even hotter this week! πŸ₯΅ As for Discworld I would definitely say read Mort before Soul Music, as they both follow the character of Death.

    1. Glad to hear you loved Soul Music when you read it Nikki, and well done on being about two-thirds through the epic Discworld series! Not sure how far I am through it.

  4. The heat has definitely been something this week! I’m looking forward to next week even less! However, my little guy finishes primary school (forever! *sob*) this coming week so I hope they get a nice (but not too hot) day for the leavers ceremony and after party! πŸ™‚

    My Sunday Post

    1. Oh Nicci, it was even hotter this week, but thankfully it cooled for our leavers’ assembly, not so for our prom though! πŸ₯΅ I hope your little guy’s leavers ceremony and party weren’t too hot?!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.