πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | 24th July 2022 πŸ₯΅πŸ‘‹

Hello friends and a blessed Sunday to you all! πŸ™ I hope this post finds you all well. Today I am going to be sharing with you what I’ve been doing, reading and watching over the last week.

It has been hot and humid here in little, old England, as we hit record temperature highs of 40Β°C/104Β°C in a mini-heatwave, at the beginning of the week! During which I had an awards evening to attend for the charity youth group and I also helped to run our school’s prom! While I thought I was going to melt, they were both lovely events. πŸ₯΅

Thankfully things cooled a little for our year group’s trip to the local park for a picnic and to watch the Queen’s Baton go by for the Commonwealth Games, and for our leaver’s assembly, where we were able to say a wonderful, but emotional, goodbye to some amazing students. πŸ’”

As well as all that, my church’s book club also met to discuss Future Glory by Ed Hindson; I went for a delicious carvery with my family; and I have been getting organised and packing for my holiday, which I will setting off for tomorrow! So this will be my last post for at least two and half weeks. 🧳

With the continued busy-ness, high temperatures and restless nights, I have again not had as much chances to read as I would have liked. I have tried to stick to shorter, lighter, comforting books, but also had my book club to try to finish.

Future Glory by Ed Hindson (2021) – My main focus this past week was on working my way through this Christian non-fiction, which was our July read for my church’s book club. It is an exploration of the seven unique promises that outline what’s in store for every Christian, from the prophecies of the book of Revelations. Honestly, though Revelations and this book boggle me! I wasn’t able to finish it in time for our meeting on Thursday, nor did many others, and it made for a slightly salty discussion! ✝

Soul Music by Terry Pratchett (1994) – For a lighter, quicker, fun read, I also have this fantasy-comedy novel from one of my favourite authors on the go, which is the 16th instalment in Pratchett’s fantastical Discworld series. This adventure revolves around the much-loved character of Death and his grand-daughter, Susan, and a new, addictive craze: Music With Rocks In! I still haven’t read much yet, but looking forward to getting properly stuck into it on my holiday. 🎢

Similar to my reading, I didn’t have a whole lot of free time or the focus to watch much, however I was able to watch and re-watch the epic two-part finale of Stranger Things 4 (2022), a nostalgic heavy, science-fiction horror series, that follows the funny/scary adventures of a quirky bunch of 80’s teens, in the small town of Hawkins, Indiana. This was a looong, but I thought satisfying conclusion to what was an improvement on Season 3 and almost a return to the top form of Season 1! πŸ‘Ύ

The Sunday Post(I have linked this post into the weekly meme, Sunday Post)

For now, that’s all folks! Where ever you are in the world, I wish you and your loved ones well. God bless and see you again in two and half weeks! πŸ‘‹

What have you been doing, reading and watching? Please let me know or leave a link to your own Sunday post below in the comments. I love to chat with you all!

3 thoughts on “πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | 24th July 2022 πŸ₯΅πŸ‘‹

  1. I’m sorry about the heat. It’s so hard to endure 100Β°+ temperatures, especially when you don’t have the infrastructure to help. Our weather is routinely that high, but most people have AC which makes it much more bearable.

    I hope you enjoy your holiday! I look forward to hearing about it and seeing pictures if you take/post any.

  2. I’m glad you managed to enjoy the awards evening and prom, despite the heatwave! I hope you have a lovely holiday.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.