Goodbye 2012, Hello 2013

Blog 2012

I have never been very good at writing my own end of year posts, so instead I have come to rely on these fun meme questions to get me going:

Best Book of 2012: Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Worst Book of 2012: What I’ve Learned Since I Knew It All by Paul Meier and Todd Clements

Most Disappointing Book of 2012: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Most Surprising (In A Good Way!) Book of 2012: On Writing by Stephen King

Most Recommended-to-Others Book of 2012: The Hobbit by J R R Tolkien

Best Series You Discovered in 2012: Old Kingdom by Garth Nix

Favourite New Authors Discovered in 2012: Mary Albanese, Louisa May Alcott, Elizabeth Bailey, Richard Due and Susanna Kearsley

Most Hilarious Read of 2012: The Last Hero by Terry Pratchett

Most Thrilling, Unputdownable Book of 2012: The Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley

Most Anticipated Book of 2012: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Favourite Cover of a Book You Read in 2012: Initiate by Tara Maya

Most Memorable Character in 2012: Long John Silver from Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

Most Beautifully Written Book of 2012: Untying the Knot by Linda Gillard

Book That Had the Greatest Impact on You in 2012: Stuart: A Life Backwards by Alexander Masters

Book You Can’t Believe You Waited Until 2012 to Read: Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

Sadly there are plenty more wonderful authors and books that I read in 2012 which didn’t manage to make it into this meme, but I do think I’ve covered those that really stuck out from the year. Now for a few interesting statistics:

Books Read: 49            New Reads: 47               Re-Reads: 2

Fiction: 41                      Non-Fiction: 5               Poetry: 3

Multiple Reads of an Author: Brian Rowe (3), M C Beaton (2), Suzanne Collins (2), Linda Gillard (2), Garth Nix (2), Terry Pratchett (2)

Ambitions for 2013: I am really pleased with my progress with incorporating more non-fiction and poetry into my reading, and hope this will continue in the new year. My new ambition is to make more time for re-reads. As much as I love all the new authors and books I have been discovering because of my blog, I don’t want to lose touch with well-loved authors and books. So my aim is to every month or so find a little time to revisit an old favourite.

I hope you have all had a good 2012 and I want to take the time now to wish you a Happy New Year, here’s hoping it will be even better than last year 🙂

What did you read in 2012? Any recommendations? What are your aims for 2013?

26 thoughts on “Goodbye 2012, Hello 2013

    1. Hello Monica, thank you for stopping by and commenting. I always like to hear from a new face 🙂

      You’ve picked an interesting mixture of non-fiction to read. I haven’t heard of any of them before but I am not a huge non-fiction reader at the moment, although this is something I’d like to change. Thank you for sharing.

  1. Congrats on your year of reading! I’m quite impressed by the 3 poetry books. I also really like the idea of counting multiple reads by the same author.

    1. Thank you Amanda! I am rather impressed with myself for reading 3 poetry books especially as in 2011 I only read 1 🙂
      I started counting multiple reads of an author so I could judge who I would like to not forget with all the excitment of new books and authors!

  2. You have read a good mix. I am one of the people who does not like Little Women, I had to give it up as a bad job.

    I aim to just read in 2013 and somewhere near 100 books would be great. I have set myself a few personal challenges just mix things up a bit.

    1. Thank you Jo. You are one of the only people to let me know you didn’t like Little Women but we can’t all like the same things. The world would be a very dull place if we did!
      Good luck with 2013, 100 books is something I couldn’t imagine doing!

  3. Happy new year, Jessica! That you’ve cited Little Women as being your favourite of 2012 makes me more inclined to read it sooner (I was just thinking yesterday that I’ve missed the “right” time to read it, Christmas, but really want to). I can’t agree about Jane Eyre as it’s currently my most favourite book, but your thought on Oliver Twist is making me think likewise of Little Women.

    1. Thank you Charlie. I wouldn’t worry too much about not reading Little Women at Christmas (although it would be a lovely time to read it). I think even a normal cold day at another time of year would still be brightened up nicely by this book.
      No I’m afraid no one seems to agree with me when it comes to Jane Eyre. Don’t get me wrong I did not hate this book at all. I thought it was beautifully written but Jane as a character really frustrated me; and with my expecations being so high I ended up feeling disappointed. I would definitely consider a re-read of Jane Eyre to see if I feel the same a second time.

  4. Happy happy new year, Jessica! You seem to have had a wonderful reading year 🙂 But…jane eyre was most disappointing? Oh well maybe it was to hyped up?
    My plan is to be a better blogger this year, I kind of lost my mojo last year but I think the break did me good.
    Here’s to 2013!!

    1. Thank you Bina! It is so lovely to hear from you 🙂
      I’m afraid hype definitely played apart when it came to Jane Eyre. I thought it was a beautifully written novel but I found Jane as a character really frustrating. If it had not been for my high expectations I would have just said it was a book I didn’t love, but my expectations were so high I ended up being disappointed.
      Good luck and I wish your mojo all the best for 2013. I would love to hear more from you.

  5. This is a lovely well balanced list. I read Little Women years ago. I must admit that I love Jane Eyre and clearly you didn’t! But, that’s been another part of my learning curve this year – we don’t have to like all the same books.
    Happy New year for 2013.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Thank you Lynn! No I’m afraid I didn’t love Jane Eyre it wasn’t terrible but it didn’t live up to the hype for me. Would be a very dull world if we all liked the same things though.

  6. I like those categories, they make me wonder which of the books I read this year would fit them. I hope the New Year brings us all lots of wonderful books!

  7. Thank you for including UNTYING THE KNOT in this list. I feel quite choked that it was your “Most Beautifully Written Book of 2012”. I gave up on that book twice, convinced it was unwriteable!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.