My Top 10 Books of 2018

As 2018 comes to an end, it is time to start reflecting back on another great year of reading. First up is my round-up of my favourite new-to-me books. After a long, hard think here are my top ten books (ordered alphabetically by author) I have read this year:

~ 1 ~

God’s Smuggler by Brother Andrew (1968)

This classic of Christian literature was an inspiring and thrilling tale of one man’s truly awesome faith and mission, which also made for a wonderful discussion point at my church’s book club meeting.

~ 2 ~

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Brontë (1848)

A beautifully written classic from the third Brontë sister, with engaging characters, which cleverly explores the societal troubles, strifes and wrongs of its time.

~ 3 ~

Cauldstane by Linda Gillard (2014)

Another beautiful written tale, from one of my favourite authors, with all the things I love: mystery; romance; history; a big, old house and a touch of the paranormal.

~ 4 ~

The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory (2010)

After The White Queen made my list last year, it was brilliant to discover that this was another well written and researched piece of historical fiction from Gregory, which gripped me from beginning to end this year!

~ 5 ~

Kin by Snorri Kristjansson (2018)

An excellent historical fiction, which is also a fast, gripping and twisting murder mystery, that shows a very different side to the raiding and pillaging Vikings.

~ 6 ~

The House on the Strand by Daphne du Maurier (1969)

A superb, time-travelling horror, from the gothic queen, du Maurier, that had me gripped from beginning to end. A precursor/inspiration perhaps for those newer dual narrative novels that I enjoy so much.

~ 7 ~

Queen of Hearts, Volume 3: War of the Cards by Colleen Oakes (2017)

After Volume 1 and 2 made the list back in 2014, it is great that this fitting and very satisfying ending to this clever and refreshing re-imagining of Wonderland made it this year. It was worth the wait!

~ 8 ~

Super Food Family Classics by Jamie Oliver (2016)

A great collection of new and traditional recipes for all the family with a super food twist. So far I have made Jamie’s Sag Aloo Korma, Veggie Bolognese and Four Seasons Minestrone (Summer & Autumn).

~ 9 ~

Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus by Nabeel Qureshi (2014)

This award winning, international bestseller was an eye-opening look at Islam and an inspiring tale of finding true peace in the love of Jesus.

~ 10 ~

Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen by Alison Weir (2016)

The first book in Weir’s ambitious Six Tudor Queens series, is a powerful tale of a courageous woman, that completely immersed me into tumultuous Tudor England.


Honorary mentions must also go to fictions: Frenchman’s Creek by Daphne du Maurier and Anne Boleyn, A King’s Obsession by Alison Weir, and cookbooks: The Hairy Dieters (5) Go Veggie by Si King & Dave Myers and The Hairy Dieters (6) Make It Easy by Si King & Dave Myers. I also loved re-reading The Hunger Games and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, and audiobook Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling & read by Stephen Fry.

Have you read any of these? What were your favourite books in 2018?

Tomorrow, I will continue my reflection on 2018 with a round-up of my favourite new-to-me adaptations I have watched, and then, on New Year’s day, I will finish with some reading statistics.

28 thoughts on “My Top 10 Books of 2018

  1. I fancy reading some more historical novels at the moment. The Weir book appeals to me. Great to see Kin on here too – I really enjoyed it too.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn, I have had quite an historical fiction head on me too. In fact it was my most read genre in 2018: knocking fantasy off the top spot for the first time, like, ever! I really hope you are able to check out Weir’s superb Six Tudor Queens series. I look forward to reading the next in series, Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen soon.

  2. Like others I was so glad to see The Tenant of Wildfell Hall on here! Anne is so often overlooked and underappreciated and it saddens me.

    Happy New Year!

  3. Thank you so much, Jessica, for listing CAULDSTANE in your Top Ten this year. I’m thrilled! I shall share this good news on my FB author page.

    I too am a big fan of TENANT OF WILDFELL HALL, also du Maurier, but I haven’t read HOUSE ON THE STRAND.

    Happy New Year to you.

    1. Aw you’re very welcome Linda – Cauldstane was a wonderful read for me and well worthy of a place on my top 10. I look forward to hopefully reading The Trysting Tree in 2019. 😀 Happy New Year to you too and I highly recommend reading du Maurier’s House on the Strand.

  4. A great list and I’m glad you’ve had so many wonderful reads this year! These lists are a killer for the TBR though,,, or would be if I wasn’t the Queen of Willpower… 😉 I really must read Katherine of Aragon, though, and The Tenant of Wildfell Hall. And maybe The House on the Strand…

    1. Thank you FF 🙂 So Katherine of Aragon, The Tenant of Wildfell Hall and maybe The House on the Strand… so only three for the ‘Queen of Willpower’ to add to her TBR 😉

  5. A wonderful list Jessica! I meant to read Frenchman’s Creek this year but have not gotten to it yet.

  6. I just adored The Tenant of Wildfell Hall. And I picked up a copy of The House on the Strand to read sometime in 2019. “See” you in the New Year!

  7. You read a good mix of fiction and quality Christian nonfiction. Hopefully next year I’ll be reading my first two du Maurier’s–by order of publication. I want to read Gregory’s Cousin War series and Alison Weir’s Six Tudor Queens series. I have some of those novels already on my TBR.

    1. Carmen, sounds like you have lots of amazing books to look forward to in the new year. Happy reading! In 2019, I hope I can keep up this good mixture of fiction and quality Christian nonfiction.

  8. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall and The House on the Strand are two of my favourite books, so I’m pleased to see them on your list! I’m glad you liked Frenchman’s Creek and the Alison Weir books too. I’m still working on my own list but it should be up soon. 🙂

    1. Helen, I can see The Tenant of Wildfell Hall and The House on the Strand becoming life-long favourites for me. While Frenchman’s Creek wasn’t my favourite either, it was still a very beautifully written tale, so deserved an honorary mention. I look forward to seeing what makes it onto your list. 🙂

    1. Very true! Your comment popped out at me, and it made me smile. I feel like she is actually the sister I relate to most. I recently read Agnes Grey, and I fell in love with her writing style, even though Emily and Charlotte are so much more celebrated (Jane Eyre is magnificent, thought). Thank you for that comment; I am so glad to find someone who feels the same way about Anne. Auf Wiedersehen!
      Emily 🙂

  9. I’m so pleased o see The Tenant of Widfell Hall made your list! It was one of my favorites the year I read it, too. Must give the Tudor Queens series a try in 2019, and I also hope to get to The House on the Strand.

    1. JoAnn, I think The Tenant of Wildfell Hall is going to be a favourite for life – I am already looking forward to re-reading it! I really hope you are able to check out Alison Weir’s Six Tudor Queens series and Daphne du Maurier’s The House on the Strand in the new year.

  10. As you know, I read Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus based on your recommendation and loved it! I’ve read four of Philippa Gregory’s “Cousins’ War” books so far (read The Kingmaker’s Daughter this month) and have enjoyed them all.

    Also thanks to your reviews, I have The House on the Strand waiting on my shelf and Cauldstane waiting in my Kindle! I hope to read both in the coming year.

    1. Kelly, I am so pleased you loved Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus after my recommendation. I hope similarly that you’ll love The House on the Strand and Cauldstane too. Early in the new year, I am hoping to read The Lady of the Rivers by Philippa Gregory.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.