WWW Wednesday | 18th September 2019

Good morning, fellow bookworms. It is Wednesday which means we are halfway through the working week (if you’re at work). Being stuck at home with my broken foot, I’ve had time to think and decided to try taking part in WWW Wednesday. A weekly meme hosted byΒ Taking on a World of Words, which simply involves answering the following Three Ws:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently Reading: The nostalgic, crime fiction Front Page Murder by Peter Bartram, the third Crampton of The Chronicle Mystery, that follows Colin Crampton, ace crime reporter for the Brighton Evening Chronicle as he helps solve crime in 1960’s Brighton. I was excited to read this after having enjoyed Colin Crampton’s previous murder adventures, Headline Murder and Stop Press Murder. It is also a perfect read to kick off my R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril XIV reading challenge.


Recently Finished: The fun, fantasy The Reaper Man by Terry Pratchett, the 11th book in Pratchett’s fantastical Discworld series and the 2nd book about one of Discworld’s favourite characters: Death. A crazy adventure that sees Death fired from his job and subsequently strange goings on in the capital, Ankh-Morpork, which the wizards of Unseen University are stumped by. Not my favourite – it was a rather convoluted – however still very good fun and I do love the character of Death.


Reading Next: I am tempted to either read the classic suspense The Moonspinners by Mary Stewart or cosy crime Agatha Raisin and the Wellspring of Death by M. C. Beaton. Both of which would be great to continue my R.I.P XIV reading.


Well that was fun and I hope you enjoyed it. I think I might have another go next week. Bye for now!

However before you go, I would love to hear from you, so tell me what have you been reading?

24 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | 18th September 2019

  1. Well, if I was going to try and pick for you I’d go with the Agatha Raisin, not only does the name always make me smile but you seem to genuinely love this series so why deprive yourself of the pleasure.
    Lynn πŸ˜€

    1. Well obviously you know me too well Lynn, as I am currently reading Agatha Raisin and the Wellspring of Death! And yes, haha the titles of the Agatha Raisin books are great aren’t they? πŸ˜€

  2. Good to know that your mood has improved and your reading has picked up. Comfort reads always help with that and what can be better than dipping into a beloved series? The R.I.P. challenge will be fun. I was thinking on participating, but since I’m not blogging I’ll have to share via other bloggers. πŸ˜› I finished an ARC of The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi Coates last week; it was solid 4* but dense. I’m reading an ARC of Cilka’s Journey by Heather Morris; it’s fast reading but I’m not sure it feels atmospheric or authentic enough, as it should because it’s based in post-war Siberia at a gulag. At 111 pages, I have yet to warm up to the protagonist. Next is possibly The Dutch House, Ann Patchett’s latest.

    1. Thank you, Carmen and you’re so right, there isn’t much better than dipping into a beloved series. πŸ™‚ And you should, definitely still take part in the R.I.P challenge and just share your books and thoughts via other bloggers – You know your always welcome here. Sounds like you’ve been doing a fair bit of reading too. I hope Cilka’s Journey warms up for you – to be fair it does seem like the type of book that should be atmospheric, so if its not feeling that way that’s a real shame.

  3. Front Page Murder sounds fun. If it’s set in the early part of the decade then i was too young to know what was going on but if its end of the decade I must just connect with some of the cultural happenings…..

    1. Karen, Front Page Murder has been good fun for me, so far! πŸ˜€ I’m afraid it is set at the start of the decade, however there are several more books to go so I presume it will move through the decade; so cultural happenings you recognise may come up later in the series. πŸ™‚

  4. The crime novel looks good! I’m just about to start a vintage crime novel, Family Matters by Anthony Rolls, and am thoroughly enjoying a re-read of Sons and Lovers by DH Lawrence… πŸ˜€

    1. FF, the Crampton crime novel is going very well, so far πŸ˜€ I hope you enjoy your vintage crime novel and your re-read of Sons and Lovers. I really must try something by DH Laurence!

    1. Hello Jen, thank you for stopping by and commenting πŸ™‚ I absolutely love that the Crampton books are set in Brighton – one of my favourite places – so when you have chance to check them out, I hope you will enjoy them too. πŸ˜€

  5. This is my first week with this meme too, Jessica. It’s fun! I’m also reading books for R.I.P. XIV, though I haven’t officially said I’m taking the challenge yet! I’m tempted by the Agatha Raisin books but having watched and enjoyed the tv series I’m not sure that the books will work for me. Too many people have said that the tv portrayal and the book character are very different. Sorry to hear about your broken foot; I hope it mends quickly.

    1. Ooo Sandra, what a nice coincidence that it is both our first week taking part in this fun meme and we’re both doing the brilliant R.I.P. XIV reading challenge πŸ™‚ As for Agatha Raisin, I have only watched the pilot episode of the TV series and have to agree that they changed too much about the story and my favourite, well-loved characters for me to love it. But I am bias towards the books, so still want to recommend you at least try the first book – you never know you might like the characters more πŸ˜‰ And thank you so much Sandra, my foot is healing well and hopefully won’t be too long before I up and about again.

      1. I shall give Agatha a try, Jessica πŸ™‚ Good news about your foot. Meanwhile, I hope the enforced inactivity is giving you more reading time!

  6. I last read The Brief History of the Dead by Kevin Brockmeier, I’m currently reading Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny, and next… I’m not sure, but I think I have it narrowed down to three. πŸ˜‰

  7. I finished reading The Lonely Hearts Hotel by Heather O’Neill. A very magical book that I loved. I am currently reading The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides, a British author’s debut thriller, for a reading group. Not sure I totally like it. Up next is a the Ernest Hemingway classic, A Moveable Feast. I am reading that for my 1964 Big Fat Reading Project list.

    1. Judy, I am pleased to hear that The Lonely Hearts Hotel was a magical book for you that you loved. Sorry to hear that The Silent Patient isn’t going so well, but it sounds like it would be perfect for the R.I.P XIV reading challenge. Hopefully Hemingway’s A Moveable Feast will be more to your taste. πŸ™‚

    1. Hello Ryan, thank you for stopping by and commenting πŸ™‚ You’ve pretty much summed up what I struggled with in Reaper Man: just a bit too much going on and my least favourite thread was the living mall. Just wanted more of Bill Door! I hope you have a great week too and I look forward to seeing what you’ve been reading in your WWW post.

    1. Hello Laurel, thank you for stopping by and commenting πŸ™‚ If you like cosy, nostalgic sort of crime then Front Page Murder will be a good read for you. I hope you enjoy your week too and I look forward to checking out what you’ve been reading in your WWW post.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.