Sunday Reflection | 29th March 2020

(A beautiful sunny day today, but don’t be lulled, it was really windy!)

Hello everyone and a blessed Sunday to you all. I hope this post finds you all well. Let’s skip right on over the ‘pandemic-that-shall-not-be-named’ and instead get straight into reflecting back on what we’ve been reading, watching and doing over the last week:

My reading has been good this week. First, I finished reading the magical, historical-fiction, The Toymakers by Robert Dinsdale, a hauntingly beautiful fairy tale for adults. Then I read the epistolary novella, Lady Susan by Jane Austen, while short, Austen still manages to pack in plenty of her trademark wit and ironic observations of people, etiquette and society.

Now I am reading the Christian non-fiction, The Problem of Pain by C S Lewis, in which Lewis’ argues that pain is not sufficient reason to reject belief in a good and powerful God, an apt read in the current climate. I have also continued to dip in and out of The Favourite: Sarah, Duchess of Marlborough by Ophelia Field, a history of the life of this powerful, glamorous and controversial favourite of Queen Anne.

While in my Bible reading, I worked my way through the book of Joshua, which is a history of the Israelites’ journey out of the wilderness, hoping for some encouragement in these hard times. Next, I think I will start reading the book of Daniel, as I have fond memories of tales like ‘Daniel and the Lions’ from my childhood.


Whilst on the screen, I continued my comfort watching of the BBC’s nostalgic Back in Time Corner Shop, where the Ardern family experience running this great British institution through the decades; and I also continued working my way through the back catalogue of one of my favourite shows: the British archaeological series Time Team, on All4.

As I finished watching the second season of the sexy-ass vampire drama, True Blood and the new, supernatural horror series, Locke & Key, I have now switched back to watch the third season of the retro, supernatural horror, Stranger Things, hoping for some monster mayhem. πŸ‘Ύ I also had a lot of fun watching the fantastic, animated family adventure Coco (2017) earlier today.


With the government laws on social distancing and staying home, it is not surprising that I have spent all week home. For work, I have spent my time checking emails; doing some online training, and finding lovely resources for reading Stig of the Dump and A Christmas Carol with the kids, hopefully at a future time. And when not working, I have continued to try to distract myself with books, TV, relaxing yoga and online services and prayer sessions from my church, as I believe it is good to try to keep my body and mind happy and healthy. πŸ§˜β€β™€οΈ

While here on the blog, midweek, I took part in the weekly WWW Wednesday meme to share what I’ve been reading. While at the end of the week, I used some of my additional time wisely to catch up on my backlog of reviews and managed to share my reviews of the science-fiction thriller, Cold Fire by Dean Koontz and the Christian non-fiction, No God But One: Allah or Jesus? by Nabeel Qureshi.


Now that’s all folks! I look forward to catching up with you all next Sunday. Where ever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless, peace be with you and bye for now! πŸ™

Now over to you: I’d love to hear what you have been reading, watching and doing this past week?


I have linked this post into the weekly meme, The Sunday Post hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer.

24 thoughts on “Sunday Reflection | 29th March 2020

  1. Good and inspiring post, Jessica. My reading is going fine because reading has always been my go to activity, no matter what. Keep it up!

    1. nice to see your comment Judy. Reading inspiring stuff can alter things powerfully. I’m so glad you are an enthusiastic reader. You will always be enriched and have so much to share with us all. I shall look forward to hear from your wisdom.

  2. I really need to catch up on Stranger Things!! Sounds like you had a good reading week. I’m trying to read the bible.. I’m not religious really.. but I’ve always wanted to read it. And now seems to be a good time.

    Stay safe and happy reading!

    1. Thank you, Maureen 😊 I really hope you have chance to catch up with Stranger Things and if it helps, I would recommend starting with one of the Gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke or John) in the New Testament if you are unfamiliar with reading the Bible.

  3. I’m glad you found such a wide selection of books and tv to keep you company last week. I must admit, I’m finding the effect the Pandemic which shall Not Be Named is having on my own reading experiences. I’ve been struggling to consentrate on anything with much depth, and found myself resorting to a lite romance the other day: the kind of thing I would normally take great pleasure wripping to shreds, but found myself lapping up, despite the fact I knew it was utter nonsense. Life has become so surreal.

    1. Alyson, life has become very surreal! And I totally understand how you found yourself craving light, fluffy reading rather than anything to in-depth. At times like these we just need comfort! 😊

  4. Stranger Things is so fun. πŸ™‚ And I really want to try Locke and Key.

    No God But One sounds fascinating. And I agree- staying hopeful and positive is so important right now! Hope your week is a good one and stay well!

  5. Loved all seasons of The Stranger Things to date. Can’t wait for the next one. And I loved Locke and Key, though I was a bit disappointed in the last episode of the season. Happy reading and watching this week πŸ™‚

    1. Great to hear you’ve enjoyed Stranger Things and Locke & Key as well, Tessa! However sorry to hear you found the last episode of Locke & Key disappointing – I figured out what the twist was going to be, but I still enjoyed it. And thank you, happy reading and viewing to you, too! πŸ˜ƒ

  6. You have read a fascinating selection of books, Jessica – and I know what you mean about that wind… It’s been like a knife today! I hope you have a peaceful, healthy week:).

  7. It sounds as though you’ve managed to have quite a productive and fulfilling week, despite the current situation! I haven’t read Lady Susan yet, so I’m glad you liked it.

    1. Thank you, Helen – I have tried to have as productive and fulfilled week as I could. Here’s hoping to another one! I hope you will have the chance to read Lady Susan, too. πŸ™‚

  8. I did a study of Daniel once (by Beth Moore) that I still sometimes reflect back on. There are some wonderful lessons to be gained from it.

    I’ve just begin reading Serena by Ron Rash. FictionFan is going to review it next month, joined by a few others. Since it was available through my library app, I decided it would be fun to real along, too. πŸ™‚

    1. Kelly, I will have to keep the Bible study of Daniel by Beth Moore in mind for the future and I hope you enjoy your read-along of Serena by Ron Rash. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.