Sunday Reflection | 12th July 2020

(Blessed with another gloriously, sunny Sunday morning, after a miserable week of weather!)

Hello everyone and a blessed Sunday to you all. I hope this post finds you all well. A funny week of weather has passed and now its time to reflect back on what we’ve been reading, watching and doing over that time:

This week, I have continued reading the award-winning, historical-fiction, Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel and the story is only getting juicier as I am currently viewing the downfall of Cardinal Wolsey and the rise of Anne Boleyn… and we all know how that works out! 😅 I also started reading the classic adventure, Kim by Rudyard Kipling, off of my Classics Club list, and the Christian non-fiction, How To Pray by Pete Greig, which is the next read for my church’s book club.

While in my Holy Bible reading, I continued working my way through the gospel of John in the New Testament, but I have again missed all of my church’s Morning Prayer livestreams, as they are on while I am now getting ready for work.


While on the screen, I continued watching the new Anglo-Spanish, mystery-thriller series, White Lines, on Netflix; which has been transporting  me from dull England to a world of sunshine, parties, drugs, secrets and excess on the stunning island of Ibiza. Nearly finished now, so eyeing up what I might start next… Maybe Series 6 of True Blood? I am missing those sexy-ass vampires!

Then on Friday night, with our customary takeaway (this time Indian), we settled down to watch Will Ferrell’s hilarious, new film Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga (2020), on Netflix; also starring Rachel McAdams, Pierce Brosnan, Dan Stevens and some real Eurovision stars. A really fun watch – Highly recommended for my fellow Europeans who are missing the real contest. 🤩


As for work, I have been back in school pretty much full time, helping to support one of our new small classes. While still tiring, I am getting used to the new routine now. In my free time, when not too tired, as well as watching TV and reading I have been doing a little jogging; cooking healthy, comfort food; met a friend for lunch on Saturday and finally I enjoyed my well-deserved soak in the bath with a face mask. Later today, I will be popping round to see my grandad and having a takeaway lunch with him in his garden.

While here on the blog, I took part in the weekly memes: Top Ten Tuesday | Most Read Authors and WWW Wednesday | 8th July 2020, and I reflected back on my reading for the first half of 2020 with the yearly meme: Six in Six | My 2020 Edition. Again I had the foresight to pre-schedule all these posts, because I knew I was probably going to be too tired to check my blog this last week! So sorry if I am behind on replying to comments – I will be catching up with them today.


Now that’s all folks! I look forward to catching up with you all next Sunday. Where ever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless and bye for now! 🙏

Now over to you: I’d love to hear what you have been reading? Have you watched anything good? What have you been doing now restrictions are starting to ease?


I have linked this post into the weekly meme, The Sunday Post hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer.

32 thoughts on “Sunday Reflection | 12th July 2020

  1. I like your pics! And I might have to try White Lines. Netflix keeps recommending it to me when I log in so it must feel like it’s a match for me or something! I’ve been doing more watching than reading lately…

    Hope you had a nice weekend and happy reading this week!

    1. Thank you, Greg 😊 and I hope you like White Lines if you decide to give it a watch. I have to say I have been doing more watching than reading lately, too!

  2. Now I must check out White Lines. I love Netflix!

    I also love the photo of your yard and surroundings. Beautiful!

    Enjoy your reading and your week. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I loved the Eurovision movie too! It took me completely by surprise. I mean, it was kind of awful but it was the good kind of awful just like Eurovision itself! Dan steven’s character stole the show for me. 🙂

    Hope you have a good week!

    1. Heather, really pleased to hear you enjoyed the Eurovision film, too: it was really good fun wasn’t it? As for Wolf Hall, I have found it a bit heavy to get into, but now the story is tripping along really well. And thank you, I hope you have had a good week as well. 😃

  4. Glad you are getting a sense of the rhythm of the new normal at school – though I’m not surprised you’re finding it exhausting. That bath and face mask sounds well deserved, Jessica. So thrilled to hear you are caught up in Wolf Hall magic – I absolutely loved the series:)). Have a great week.

  5. It sounds like you’re really staying busy now! I’m glad Wolf Hall is getting better and better.

    We’re settling into some really hot and humid weather. (typical) You’d think I’d be staying in and reading more, but my attention span hasn’t been good enough for that. Hopefully my reading will pick up soon. I’ve only read two books so far.

  6. What a beautiful picture, the weather looks lovely. A bath and mask sounds like the perfect recharge after work. I’ve been busy, too. Indian food sounds wonderful as well, I’ll have to check around the area to see if we have some local takeout to try. Have a lovely week, Jennifer! 🙂

    1. Thank you, Rachel (although my name is Jessica not Jennifer 😉, although that’s a lovely name, too). I hope you have a chance to indulge in a bath and an Indian takeaway soon, perhaps not at the same time though. 😁

  7. It sounds like you had a very fun week! I’ve been getting my blogging and reading groove back, so I’ve been enjoying that. I read the newest by Mariana Zapata, and I’ve also listened to the newest book from Asa Maria Bradley on audio. I miss Eurovision. I hope the movie is good, I’ll have to see if my Netflix has it. Stay safe and happy reading!

    1. Hey Ruby, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always nice to hear from a new face. 😊 I am really pleased to hear your have enjoyed your reading and getting backing into your blogging. I hope you take care and happy reading, too! 😃

  8. I’m a bit behind on my reading and have barely picked up a book this month (apart from having a sort out and rehoming some books!). I have been watching some TV though and I’m really enjoying watching The Alienist on Netflix.

  9. Oh I had no clue what Euro Vision was until I read your post. I saw it on Netflix and swiped it out. Now I might check it out.

  10. What a busy week! I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on Wolf Hall – it’ll probably make me run back to my mum and dad’s house to pilfer my old copy!

    Hehe I’m missing my yearly Eurovision party so I will definitely check out the new film. Did you see the AI Song Contest? I thought it was very interesting but didn’t leave me too worried that musicians would be surplus to requirement any time soon! Hah!

    1. Hopefully it won’t be too long till I finish the beastie Wolf Hall soon, Proxy, so get those trainers on standby for that run! 😉 And I hadn’t even heard of the AI Song Contest! 😅

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.