Top Ten Tuesday | Colourful Book Titles

Hello my fellow bookworms. Today, I am taking part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday! A weekly meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl, who each week assigns a new topic to inspires us to create a top ten list based on it. This week’s topic is:

‘Books with Colours In the Titles’

I know many people will come up with more interesting and different spins on this topic, but I am simply going to share with you ten books I have enjoyed that have a colour in their title, simples, and here they are:

1. The Silver Chair by C.S. Lewis

2. The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman

3. A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle

4. The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory

5. Red Rose, White Rose by Joanna Hickson

6. The Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley

7. Peach Blossom Pavilion by Mingmei Yip

8. James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl

9. The White Queen by Philippa Gregory

10. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde


Now over to you: What do you think of my choices? What books with colours in their titles can you think of?

Also if you have taken part in this week’s TTT topic, too, then please leave a link for your post in the comments below, so I come check it out.

29 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Colourful Book Titles

    1. Thank you, Lynne – I thought using The Picture of Dorian Gray was probably slightly cheating because of the spelling, but everyone seems to be okay with it! 😄

    1. Hello Anna, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from a new face. 😊 I hope you have chance to re-read The Silver Chair before the new Netflix adaptation is released. 🙂

    1. Hello Annelies, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always so nice to hear from a new face. 😊 I hope you’re able to re-read The Picture of Dorian Gray soon – I must admit it has been a very long since I read it too!

  1. I’ve enjoyed some of those too, especially the Philippa Gregory, Joanna Hickson and Susanna Kearsley books. I read The Picture of Dorian Gray years ago but can hardly remember it now, so I think I’ll have to read it again at some point.

    1. Helen, I hope you are able to re-read The Picture of Dorian Gray in the not-too-distant-future – I must admit it has been so long since I read it too, that I only have a vague memory of enjoy it! 🙂

  2. Colours are good in titles. It gives the reader a feel even before opening the book. I have read the first three on your list.

    1. Lydia, The Silver Chair is a good story, although maybe a little overlooked as it doesn’t have the Pevensie siblings in it. And you’re welcome and thank you for visiting back. 😊

  3. Awesome list! I didn’t even think of His Dark Material books, even if I love them. I did include A Study in Scarlet, though, and also considered The Picture of Dorian Gray, but since the spelling in UK is grey, I decided to leave it out.

    1. Thank you, Stargazer! 😃 I know I am cheating a little with The Picture of Dorian Gray, but I couldn’t think of anything else and it is pronounced the same as grey, so I think most people will forgive me! 😏

      1. Haha, of course we forgive you! 😉 Since English is not my first language, I’m always extra worried about getting the spelling and the meaning of words wrong. I should probably just have included Dorian Gray as well! 😀

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.