Sunday Reflection | 11th October 2020

(A blustery view over Draycote Water. It was almost like being at the sea side 🌊)

Hello everyone and a blessed Sunday to you all. I hope this post finds you all well. Another wet and miserable week has passed, and now it is time to reflect on what we’ve been reading, watching and doing over that time:

This week, I have been reading the dual-narrative, historical-fiction, The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley, that has been helping me escape the busy-ness of life, in a tale of love, courage, redemption, psychic abilities and the Jacobite rebellion. βš”

While in my Hoy Bible reading,Β  I have headed back to the Old Testament, to Β work my way back through the book of Job, about the testing of a good, pious man by Satan, with my new perspective I have got from reading The Bible Jesus Read by Philip Yancey.


While on the screen, I have finished re-watching season 14 of the British archaeological series Time Team and I have continuedΒ watching the newest series of the science-fiction, historical drama, Project Blue Book, that is taking me back to the 1950’s for some more UFO investigations. I also got hooked on and binge watched ITV’s three-part drama, Des, starring David Tennant as the serial killer Dennis Nilsen.

On Friday night, with another disappointing offering as Sky’s premiere, we instead binge watched season 1 of the British police drama, Criminal: UK, on Netflix, with our pizza takeaway. That same night I also watched Netflix’s true-crime documentary, American Murder: The Family Next Door, which tells the story of the shocking 2018 Watts’ family murders.


At work things have continued to run smoothly, even though it is still pretty full on each day, with only a few dramatic blips along the way: as a member of staff and several pupils were sent home with high temperatures. In my spare time, I managed to do a little reading, easy viewing and cooked some more warming, comfort dishes: that included lamb Ragu and sag aloo Korma (pictured). πŸ₯˜ Also, yesterday, I enjoyed a bracing walk around Draycote Water, Warwickshire and a nice stop off in the cafΓ©, when it started raining! β˜”

While here on the blog, it has again been regrettably quiet. However I was able to share my round-up post: What I Watched In September 2020 and take part in my favourite weekly meme: WWW Wednesday | 7th October 2020. Please check this out if you haven’t already. Thank you! 😊


Later today, my grandad will be coming round for Sunday lunch – I am cooking gammon and parsley sauce. For now though, that’s all folks! I look forward to catching up with you all next Sunday. Where ever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless and bye for now! πŸ™

Now over to you: I’d love to hear what you have been reading? Have you watched anything good? Have you managed any nice days out?


I have linked this post into the weekly meme, The Sunday Post hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer.

22 thoughts on “Sunday Reflection | 11th October 2020

  1. Comfort food is the best during trying times…or any time, actually. Enjoy your lunch with family…and I hope you love your books and stay safe. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  2. The mention of Time Team takes me back! It’s been a long time since I’ve thought of that show but I used to love it as a kid.

    My son lasted 8 school days before having to isolate and get tested as a cold/sore throat combo started going around his (primary) class bringing with it some symptoms that could be attributed to covid (but wasn’t). I think it’s a sad sign of what the coming months are going to bring! Hope you stay safe and well.

    1. Aw Nicci, glad to hear you’re another Time Team fan from youth – It has been great re-watching them as an adult and there are loads of episodes I don’t recognise! πŸ˜ƒ Well there was you mentioning your son having to isolate, one our pupils tested positive yesterday, so we are all now in isolation. However thankfully no one else has symptoms, so praying we have nipped it in the bud. πŸ™πŸ™‚

  3. Sorry to hear you’ve had wet and miserable weather. The picture looks beautiful, though. It’s great you got out to exercise despite the bad weather. Hope you enjoy your lunch with your grandad! Happy reading and have a wonderful week, Jessica! πŸ™‚

  4. That food looks great. And I hope you have a great lunch with your granddad.
    Have a great week and happy reading.

  5. Look at all the sailboats! What a wonderful place for a walk!

    I’m clipping right along with my RIP reading, hoping to finish my third book today. πŸ™‚

  6. Are those all sailboats on the water? I love watching sailboats on a windy day… something calming about it. πŸ™‚ Glad you were able to have some nice comfort food as well this week. Hope your week ahead is a good one!

  7. I loved the Criminal: UK, especially the final episode. Looks like the Sagu Aloo Kurma turned out pretty perfect, it is my mom’s special dish.

    1. Gayathri, I am pleased to hear you also loved the Criminal: UK series and thank you so much, it is a real compliment coming from someone who’s mum is an expert at cooking it! 😁

  8. Love the pic – it looks delightful:)). Enjoy your Sunday dinner – I love parsley sauce and need to dig out my recipe for it – thank you for the reminder. I hope the coming week is a good one and that you manage to keep well, Jessica:))

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.