WWW Wednesday | 7th October 2020

Good morning, fellow bookworms. It is ‘Hump Day’ Wednesday which means we are halfway through the working week (if you’re at work) and it is time for WWW Wednesday! A weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words, which simply involves answering the following Three Ws:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?


– Currently Reading –

The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley (2013) – Now I am not so tired and have been able to get my reading mojo back a little, I have become enthralled in this dual-narrative, historical-fiction, by one of my favourite authors, about Nicola Marter, a gallery assistant whose ‘special gift’ and a small wooden carving has her following a little girl, Anna into the past of the Jacobite rebellion, unearthing a tale of love, courage, and redemption. This just what I want and expect from Kearsley. 😊

Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne (1870) – With everything that has been going on, I have found I am currently not able to focus on more than one book at the moment. So for now I have popped this classic adventure, from this beloved French author, about Captain Nemo and his futuristic submarine, the Nautilus in the deep, unknown reaches of our ocean, onto the backburner. However I am really looking forward to getting back to it!

Holy Bible – Since reading The Bible Jesus Read by Philip Yancey (see below), it felt like it would only be appropriate to head back to the Old Testament, so I have started working my way through the book of Job, which is about the testing of a good, pious man by Satan.


– Recently Finished –

The Bible Jesus Read by Philip Yancey (2006) *** – On Saturday, I finished reading this fascinating Christian non-fiction (the next read for my church’s book club), in which the award-winning contemporary Christian author, Yancey challenges the perception that the New Testament is more important than the Old. This really got me thinking; got me making lots of notes and inspired me to read the Old Testament with new eyes.

In the last week, I have sadly not posted any reviews, however since my last WWW Wednesday post, I did share my monthly round-up posts: What I Read In September 2020 and What I Watched In September 2020. Please check this out if you haven’t already. Thank you! 😊


– Reading Next –

With my current, slower, one-book reading progress, I don’t think I will need to worry for a little while about what I will be reading next. But when I am ready for a new book, I will be heading to my R.I.P XV reading list for inspiration.


Now over to you: What are you currently reading? What did you recently finish reading? What do you think you’ll read next?

Also please leave a link to your WWW posts in the comments, so I can come check them out, too!

31 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | 7th October 2020

    1. Hey A Couple of Bees, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from new faces. 😊 I hope you will have the chance to check out The Bible Jesus Read for yourselves. 🙂

  1. Ooo! The Firebird sounds interesting!! I definitely get that inability to focus. I have to make tons of lists and use audiobooks to read along with and tons of other tricks to keep me going and they still don’t work lol

    1. Thankfully it is not that a can’t focus at all – The Firebird is absolutely wonderful – but I am just too tired to focus on more than one book at the moment. I would usually have a novel, classic and non-fiction on the go at the same time! But one book is better than known right?! 😁

    1. Hey libgirlbooks, thank you for stopping by and commenting. Always lovely to hear from a new face. 😊 I am really looking forward to getting back to Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea, as I loved Around the World in Eighty Days. 😁

  2. I’m currently on my second book for RIP, In Cold Blood by Truman Capote. I look forward to your review of the Yancey book since I’ve always enjoyed studying the connections between the New and Old Testaments. Hope you get to some RIP reading soon!

    1. Kelly, I am really pleased you have been enjoying your RIP reading 🎃 and fingers crossed it won’t be too long till I can get my review up for Yancey’s The Bible Jesus Read! 🤞 Actually my current read: The Firebird has touches of the paranormal and mystery, so would count for RIP too.

  3. Recently finished the Invisible Life of Addie LaRue which was really good. Not sure what to pick up next – probably The Once and Future Witches.
    Lynn 😀

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.